Triple Chocolate Zucchini Loaf

Every Friday at work we have “Breakfast Club.”  If you have worked in an office, you know the drill.  Basically, we take turns bringing breakfast for the floor.  Some people are strictly bagel and cream cheese bucket types.  Some forget and grab a box of granola bars and some even bring in a bag of McDonalds McMuffins.  For reasons I can’t fathom, this is a VERY popular option.  And there those few like me who make something when it is their turn.  My assistant, god love her, has been bringing the same egg and sausage casserole for years.  I, of course, am a nerd who likes to “shake it up” every month.

I was planning to make the Perfection Pound Cake out of Baking From My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan.  It is one of the recipes I missed before joining Tuesdays with Dorie.  BUT I didn’t have enough eggs.  On to plan B.  I was flipping through a Maida Heatter collection of cakes when I came across a zucchini loaf.  It satisfied the most important criteria–I had all of the ingredients on hand.  And – bonus – easily transportable.  Following my usual theory in life that everything goes better chocolate, I altered the recipe significantly to make a Triple Chocolate Zucchini Loaf. 

Bottom Line:  Very chocolatey.  Very good.  I am sure it could be perfected but did you read the first paragraph?  I work, people.  Perfection will have to wait.  I was hoping my notoriously picky second son would eat it.  It has vegetables, right?  I don’t know why I get my hopes up.  He didn’t like it.  Ohe well, there is always the first born…

Triple Chocolate Zucchini Loaf
Adapted from Maida Heatter’s Zucchini Bread

Ingredients

  • 2 C. grated zucchini
  • 1.5 C all purpose flour
  • 1.25 C whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 C cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 C. vegetable oil
  • 1 C. granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 oz. unsweetened chocolate (melted)
  • 3/4 C semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350.  Prepare a ten cup loaf pan or two smaller pans.  I used a 9 by 5 by 3in. pan and a 6 in. cake pan.  Grate the zucchini so that you end up with two packed cups.  Set aside.  Sift together the flours, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon.  Set aside.

In a large bowl, lightly beat the eggs.  Mix in the oil, sugar, and vanilla.  Pour in the melted chocolate and blend well.  Add the sifted ingredients and mix just to incorporate.  Fold in the zucchini and chocolate chips.  The batter is very thick but the zucchini thins it somewhat. 

Spoon into pans and bake.  I baked the 6in. pan for 45 minutes and the 9in loaf pan for about 1 hour 15 minutes.  Cool in the pans for 15 minutes and then unmold.

Enjoy!

5 responses to “Triple Chocolate Zucchini Loaf

  1. This looks delicious! I love chocolate zucchini bread, and this looks like it a great recipe.

  2. Hey Kelly do you think I could just sub white flour for the whole wheat? Sabrina is dying to make zucchini bread and chocolate is just an added bonus – please shoot me an email (if you have time) and let me know – tomorrow’s the first day of school and she would love to take something like this in her lunch box! (and be the envy of all the 6th graders!)

  3. This looks awesome! I bet you are a rock star at the office, especially if you follow a McMuffin week. Sorry your little one didn’t take the bait — I so feel your pain on the picky-eating children front. Great recipe!

  4. Chocolate and zucchini is the best!

  5. Pingback: Columbus Foodie » Blog Archive » August 2008 Roundup

Leave a Reply

