You want (insert long name here) Pie with that?

 This was not the pie I was originally going to make for the inaugural You Want Pies With That? round.  But I was at the grocery store on Saturday looking at my overflowing cart and then at my purse and back to my cart…and you get the idea.  A sizeable amount of money changed hands at the ol’ Hy Vee.   I decided to hold off on some items.  It immediately reminded me of the scene in Terms of Endearment when Debra Winger (Emma) is at the grocery store in Iowa and doesn’t have enough money so she keeps giving items back to the snotty clerk.  And an idea was born.  This would be my Terms-of-Endearment-got-no-money-use-what’s-in-the-house-pie.  The name kind of rolls of your tongue, yes?

 It is fitting as I love that movie.  If you haven’t seen it, rent it.  I can’t explain it all here.  My husband says I have a sixth sense that allows me to know when and where it is on TV at any time.  If it were for some reason on the Weather channel at noon on Tuesday I would somehow be there to watch it.   It also does not matter how far the movie is along when I turn it on.  I WILL cry at the hospital scenes.  Now that I have two boys it is practically unbearable.

 

The whole underlying theme of the movie is how life does not always lead where you think it will (did Emma really plan to end up in Iowa with Flap?).  So, here is my unexpected peanut butter pretzel mini-pies  (that sort of turned out more like a cheesecake – but don’t tell anyone).  I had left over chocolate peanut butter cookie dough in the freezer from the blueberry ice cream TWD awhile back.  I had some cream cheese and peanut butter pretzels.  Left over caramel from this week’s TWD and voila!

 

Well, the “pies” took the theme of the movie and ran with it.  The cream cheese puffed and burnt.  I wanted a thicker layer of caramel to make it more “pie” like but oh well.  Some of the cookie crust burnt a little, too.  I was shaking my head at the poor little things thinking how can I post these to be compared with everyone else’s?  then it hit me.  I am Emma at the New York lunch with Patsy and her friends.  Keep that in mind when you are comparing.

The good news:  I really liked the taste.  I congratulated myself on the automatic portion control of the muffin size pies.  Then I ate two in 6 seconds.  With a little tweaking, it could be even better!

 

Terms-of-Endearment-got-no-money-use-what’s-in-the-house-pie

 Crust: 

Maida Heatter’s peanut butter chocolate cookies (about 1/4 of a batch for 6 mini pies)

Filling:  (I had a little extra…)

  • 4 oz cream cheese (room temp.)
  • ¼ c. sugar
  • pinch salt
  • 1 egg
  • ¼ tsp vanilla
  • handful of peanut butter covered pretzels (broken)

 Topping:

Left over Dorie Greenspan caramel sauce

 1.                   Preheat oven to 325 degrees and prepare muffin pan. (I baked mine at 350 and I think a lower temp would be better).

2.                   Prepare cookie dough and press into six muffin cups.

3.                   Beat cream cheese until soft.  Add sugar and salt and beat to combine.  Add egg and vanilla.  Mix well.  Stir in broken pretzels.  Pour batter into muffin cups.

4.                   Bake for about 25-30 minutes.  Check early if you get nervous.

5.                  Cool to room temperature.  Drizzle or pour carmel sauce over the top and chill overnight.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

13 responses to “You want (insert long name here) Pie with that?

  1. I love it! And your title is just great!

  2. very creative. i LOVE peanut butter and pretzels, so I’m sure this tasted great!

  3. Love the name of your pie! and the pie looks to die for!

  4. The name is great! I have always wanted to incorporate pretzels into dessert.
    There are certain movies that always make me cry – Bridges over Madison County for one….
    Yummy pies, dear. I bet the kids loved them.

  5. Oh, you’re killing me. Really. I love peanut butter filled pretzels. And to add all that other great stuff? Over the top. I’m voting for you -

  6. Very cute! Great idea- I love the movie choice and pie.

  7. Chocolate, peanut butter, and pretzels? Wow, that sounds amazing. Love the name too.

  8. Good heavens, what a sinful flavor combo! I’d have eaten all of them myself!

  9. I’ve had peanut butter-filled pretzel bites before. How creative to combine them with chocolate in a pie, that sweet/salty yummy combination.

  10. I love the name and I LOVE this movie. Like you, I always cry at the hospital scene. Especially when she tells her oldest son that she knows he loves her. Ugh!! Nice job with the pies. I admire your creativity and innovation. They look pretty darned good to me.

  11. Yum, that pie sounds delicious! I love that movie too – so sad!

  12. That sounds like a fantastic pie and I love the idea that you improvised.

    LOVE that movie… you must have a box of Kleenex handy with that one.

  13. what wonderful pies! I love the inspiration and the adventure getting to the end result!

Leave a Reply

