Flourless Clementine Cake

photo-692

This cake caught my eye over at Smitten Kitchen.  I am cooking for someone who, at the moment, has to avoid white sugar, flour, and butter.  So, not a lot of baked goods for that one.  This cake has no butter or flour.  It does call for sugar but I subbed in agave nectar.

photo-6841

You start with boiled whole clementines.  If you have a box on your counter that will be never be finished, this may be the cake for you.  I, personally, found it too almond-y which is not in the least surprising since I am not a big fan of nuts.

It is very moist and keeps for days…big advantages when the cake is made for an audience of one.  I don’t think this was his favorite cake ever but it was a nice change of pace and a welcome addition to baked good-less diet.

Clementine Cake

Adapted from Smitten Kitchen and Nigella Lawson

4 to 5 clementines (about 375grams/slightly less than 1 pound total weight)
6 eggs
5/8 c. agave nectar
2 2/3 cups ground almonds
1 heaping teaspoon baking powder

Optional: Powdered sugar for dusting, or for making a glaze

Put the clementines in a pot with cold water to cover, bring to the boil, and cook for 2 hours. Drain and, when cool, cut each clementine in half and remove the seeds. Then finely chop the skins, pith, and fruit in the processor.

Preheat the oven to 375°F (190°C).

Butter and line an 8-inch (21 centimeter) springform pan with parchment paper. (I only have a 9-inch)

Beat the eggs. Add the agave nectar, almonds, and baking powder. Mix well, adding the chopped clementines.

Pour the cake mixture into the prepared pan and bake for 30 to 50 minutes, when a skewer will come out clean; you might have to cover the cake with foil after about 20 to 30 minutes to stop the top from over-browning.  I cooked mine about 38 minutes with no foil.

Remove from the oven and leave to cool, in the pan on a rack. When the cake is cold, you can take it out of the pan and dust it with powdered sugar.

7 responses to “Flourless Clementine Cake

  1. Wow – that covers a lot of territory. Allergies? Health issues? Or none of my business? I’m racking my brain to see if I have any recipes I can send to you…….

  2. This really looks great! I think everyone needs to have a good flourless/sugarless dessert recipe up their sleeves!

  3. I’m excited about this recipe since I’m pretty much obsessed wth almonds (and citrus too!) and finding flourless, sugarless desserts is something I have to do for certain family and friend occasions.
    Thanks, it looks so good.
    Nancy

  4. ps, if you make the Mesa Grill muffins let me know. I remembered that I learned of the recipe from Katrina of Baking and Boys.
    Nancy

  5. Cooking with those dietary restrictions seems like quite a challenge! This cake sounds amazing.

  6. The cake looks lovely!

  7. I have this same recipe bookmarked too…how addictive is that Smitten Kitchen site???!!!!!

Leave a Reply

