TWD: My Fresh Mango Bread! (well, my pick anyway)

P5140014

I have said it before…fruit is my environmental downfall.  OK, I have several but that is beside the point.  My enduring and ardent love of fruit knows no bounds.  My assistant once remarked that she half expects to walk into my office and find I have turned into a fruit basket.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I love chocolate and don’t stand between me and a bowl of ice cream.  But, I think it has been years since I have gone a day without fresh fruit.  My name is Kelly and I routinely ignore the carbon footprint of my daily snack.

P5160003

At the top of my fruit pyramid, mangoes and cherries are tied.  My husband once said to me that if I could marry a mango I would.  That I did not discover them until my 20s I consider a glaring omission in an otherwise satisfying childhood.  So, I had been eyeing the Fresh Mango Bread for awhile.  After the chocolate intense month of April, it seemed like the perfect choice.  And, for me, it was.

P5130009

I really enjoyed this bread.  I enjoyed it so much I ate two pieces late at night when it came out of the oven (I really liked it warm).  And another giant slice the next morning for breakfast.  And a nibble after work.  It was getting ugly.  The brown sugar, the mango, the cinnamon…irresistable in the true sense of the word.

So, I made a second loaf that I lightened up.  I wish taste were the only consideration out there but my jeans would argue otherwise.  I adored this bread in its original incarnation and enjoyed it in my version.  Make Dorie’s when you are looking for a treat or need to bribe someone (my neighbor will be getting a loaf when his garden starts producing tomatoes and zucchini).  Consider my version when you are craving something different for breakfast and aren’t ready to commit to indulgence.

P5160006

Mango 2.0

P5160014

In an unfortunate twist of timing, I am in an all day meeting at work on Tuesday and gone most of the day on Wednesday.  I really want to get to as many blogs as I can but it may take a little while.

Fresh Mango Bread (my changes are in red).

Ingredients

3 large eggs (1 small container plain non-fat yogurt)
3/4 flavorless oil, such as canola or safflower (3/8 c of oil; 1/2 c of applesauce)
2.5 cups all purpose flour (2.25 c of whole wheat pastry flour; 1/4 c oat bran)
1 c sugar (1/2 c. sugar)
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1.5 tsp ground ginger (1/2 tsp)
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 c (packed) light brown sugar (3/8 cup)
2 c diced mango
3/4 c moist, plump golden raisins (didn’t have golden…)
Grated zest of 1/2 lime

Directions

Center a rack in the oven and preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Butter an 8.5 x 4.5 inch loaf pan, dust the inside with flour and tap out the excess.  Put the pan on an insulated baking sheet or on two regular baking sheets stacked one on top of the other.  (This extra insulation will keep the bottom of the bread from overbaking).

Whisk the eggs and oil together.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, spices and salt.  Rub the brown sugar between your palms into the bowl, breaking up any lumps, then stir it in.  Pour the wet ingredients over the dry, switch to a sturdy rubber spatula or wooden spoon and mix until blended — the batter will be very thick (really more like a dough than a batter) and not easily mixed, but persevere, it will soon come together.  Stir in the mango, raisins, and zest.  Scrape the batter into the pan and smooth the top with a rubber spatula.

Bake the bread for 1.5 hours, or until it is golden brown and a thin knife inserted ino the center comes out clean.  (If the bread looks as if it’s getting too brown as it bakes, cover it loosely with a foil tent).  I did this at 45 minutes. Transfer the pan to a rack and cool for 5 minutes before running a knife around the sides of the pan and unmolding.  Invert and cool to room temperature right side up on the rack.

69 responses to “TWD: My Fresh Mango Bread! (well, my pick anyway)

  1. Thank you for making a great choice. I really loved this bread!

  2. Thanks for a great pick: I really enjoyed this one!! I added some shredded coconut and chopped pecans and turned the bread into muffins. The coworkers devoured them: all 24 muffins were gone in 5 minutes!! I barely got the change to try one myself!!

  3. merci Kelly pour le choix de la recette :) je m’y suis remis à deux fois pour le faire, mais ça en valait la peine car il est vraiment bon !

  4. Thanks for a non-chocolate pick! Your bread looks lovely and I like how you made a healthier version!

  5. I loved this recipe. Thanks for choosing it!

  6. Yours looks great. I should try your version. Mine was so dry!

  7. This was a really good pick, Kelly. Even though I don’t really love mangoes, I thought the bread was fabulous. Your lightened up version sounds wonderful, too! And you always seemed a little “fruity” to me!! LOL! :o)

  8. Thanks for such a great pick.

    I really liked it.

  9. This was a great recipe, and nice and easy, too! Thanks for adding suggestions of how to lighten it up, as well!

  10. What a great pick this week, it might just have made a mango lover out of me! :)

  11. Thanks for a wonderful pick! i would never have chosen this for myself. The bread tasted so good.

  12. Great!! It´s mango time in the Caribbean…

  13. Wow! You made it twice? That’s devotion. ;-) Thanks for picking something everyday.

  14. It was great to use mangoes in our TWD experiment this week. Thanks for a great selection!

  15. I love all of the changes that you made to the recipe. Mine is still in the oven but I’m very excited to have some in a little bit!
    Oh, and I completely understand where you’re coming from with the fruit. I love it, too and I was on a great locavore track until January hit and I just had to give in and buy fruit regardless of where it was coming from. My carbon footprint soared.

  16. I too love fresh fruit! Italy had a durth of mangos, so pineapple was my substitute (canned, none the less). Yours look gorgeous and like your slimmer verision! Thanks for the great pick…

  17. Mango Lover? Well…….wait until you read my post.

  18. This was a great pick Kelly! We loved the bread and yours looks delicious. I was glad for something easy to make and not complicated for a change. Thanks so much!!

  19. Thank you for posting a healthy version of this! I LOVED this bread and want to make it again and again, but want to make it a bit lighter and your subs are so helpful!!! Thank you so much for this AMAZING pick, I LOVED it! Easily one of my top 5 Dorie Recipes so far!

  20. Great pick! I loved this one

  21. This was a fun pic and I love the changes you made- great job!

  22. Great pick! Yours looks great!

  23. Looks great. Good pick.

  24. Great pick!! We loved this bread (I too used less spices). I love your changes too. Can you use yogurt instead of eggs? I never knew that. Your bread looks great! Happy Dorie week! =)

  25. Great pick Kelly! We loved this around here. I am also glad to finally have the dots between you and mangoes connected. Thanks for your lightened up version too – I will have to try that one as well.

  26. Great pick! the bread looks yummy!

  27. Thank you Kelly for this week’s TWD recipe! I LOVE this bread and I’m with you on the many uses of this bread! =)

  28. I really liked the bread and HA, I healthified mine, too. So easy and a nice healthy change from all that chocolate in April. NOW, bring on the brownies! ;)

  29. This was a REALLY good pick. I doubt I would ever have made it on my own, and it is now among my Dorie favorites. I like your lightened up version, too. I lightened mine up just a tad, but it still wasn’t in the realm of “health” food!

  30. Great choice Kelly, really enjoyed it!

  31. I made this twice and loved it. Once I figured out how to cut the mangoes, I loved how pretty they looked too!

  32. Great pick! I’m going through a serious mango phase right now and loved this bread. I cringed a little at the amount of oil so I am stoked to try your version next time. And there will definitely be a next time ( and a next, and a next).

  33. How cool that you made a light version too. Thanks for a great pick. It was delicious!

  34. Great pick! And thanks also for the “lite” version – my jeans will also thank you! (I think I need a TWD break for a bit – I’m becoming super-sized!!)

  35. Perfect pick just like your perfect bread!!

  36. What a great pick! I loved it and will definitely be making it again. Glad you enjoyed it as well!

  37. Excellent choice– I loved it, thanks!

  38. Thanks for picking a great recipe!!!

  39. Thanks for a great pick! I lightened mine up a little, but I’d like to try your lightened version now. I’m a big fruit lover too, and I just don’t understand people who say they don’t like fruit.

  40. I can definitely use the lightened version! Thanks for the pick this week! I like fruit but not as much as you lol

  41. Great pick Kelly! Mangoes are my all time favorite and I love this recipe. I plan on trying a lighter version too.

  42. A wonderful choice Kelly :)

    Thank you for the healthier version, i shall be trying it soon :)

  43. i really loved this one – thanks for a great selection! your bread looks great.

  44. Your changes make it sound like the perfect breakfast bread. I totally agree with you about mangoes being one of the best fruits out there! I loved this one! Thanks for the pic.

  45. Delicious choice! :) My husband surprised me by actually really like this!

  46. Thanks for a wonderful pick and for your lightened up version too. I will try that one as well. Great job!

  47. Wonderful choice! Thanks for a delicious pick!

  48. What a great post, and nice looking bread. I don’t think there has been a pick that has suited the “picker” better! I like that you’ve found a way to lighten in up — I’ll have to steal….I mean borrow that recipe.

    Mine is still in the oven, but the raw version was pretty tasty. Thanks for chosing this one.

  49. I was wondering how it would work with yogurt; it’s good to know it does! Thanks for a yummy pick!

  50. Great choice! The mango bread was really yummy!

  51. i loved this bread, too! and like you, i always have mango on hand! thanks for a fun and unusual pick!

  52. Thanks for this awesome pick! If we keep having such yummy picks, I’ll have to start lightening mine up, too!

  53. Seeing your beautiful mango bread reminds me both of how much I like the recipe and of how very, very long it’s been since I’ve made it. I’m in Paris now, but there are plenty of mangos in the market — I think this may be what my friends will get when they visit tomorrow. Thanks for the good pick.

  54. Thanks for picking a great recipe! I’ll have to try your healthier substitutions.

  55. You did good with this one. It was a great pick and a delicious bread. Yours looks good and I like the healthy version. All I did was use fake sugar instead. Thanks for this spicy pick!!!

  56. Great pick, Kelly! We really enjoyed this one. I don’t think I’ve ever bought a fresh mango before.

  57. What a great pick! It was a sleeper hit at my house. I didn’t think anyone would like it but eveyone did! :)

  58. healthybaking

    I can’t wait to give this a try! I made a Mango bread a few weeks ago, and while it was pretty tasty, it was a bit of an acquired taste. I love mango though, so I will definitely give this loaf a try!

  59. Thank you for expanding my perception of quick breads to include mangos. I doubt I would have tried this recipe on my own. After many similar experiences of liking recipes that didn’t initially appeal to me I am always going to make a point to make something that I normally wouldn’t out of cookbooks. Great pick, I loved this!

  60. This was such a great choice! I was a little unsure about it from the description, but I LOVED the final product. And I agree, fruit is my ultimate snack/meal/dessert. Thanks for choosing such a fab recipe!

  61. I really like the light recipe. I may be air headed, but how exactly do you easily measure out 3/8 of a cup? I feel stupid for asking but really want to try out your version.

    This was really a great pick!

  62. Kelly – nice pick. I’m a fruitie as well! Made some changes as well with great results.

  63. Thanks for picking this one – I liked it so much more than I thought I would. And thanks for reminding me to eat more fresh fruit, now that it’s coming back into season!

  64. OMG Kelly… I can’t believe I didn’t leave a comment before now. Darn, no worries you have your hands full. Busy week huh? Anyway, I really appreciate you leaving a “healthful” recipe for us so that it minimizes the guilt Yea!
    Take care and Happy Memorial Day
    AmyRuth

  65. Since I am a regular visitor here, I figured I would give you a few days to recover before popping in…recover from the tons of comments you would get this week being THE ONE WHO PICKS! LOL. You did a great job picking and a great job on this recipe…look at all those chunks of fruit…gorgeous. My family loved this bread…it was gone in no time and I had to make another, which was a pleasure because it was nice and easy! Thanks for not picking chocolate…tee hee. Mangos = love!

  66. Ciao Kelly ! Thanks for picking this wonderful bread ! I made it in advance but was late posting it !!!

  67. Love the tweaks you made to the second loaf! And yes, a day is not a day without fruit.

  68. thanks for a great pick! i enjoyed it!

  69. I finally made my bread, and although I had “loaf explosion,” as I called it, it is fabulous. Great pick, easy and quick to make..a real treat

Leave a Reply

