TWD: Cranberry Lime Tartlette

We are entering the season of the wee dessert.


Before I set out to make this, I thought about the upcoming calendar of family dinners and parties, I thought about my pants, I thought about the cold jogging weather and dark evenings…and came to the conclusion that I would not be making any more desserts for awhile. I had planned on making the cranberry shortbread cake last week but couldn’t face it after “dipping” into my kids Halloween candy for seven days in a row. I seriously thought about sending Laurie an email requesting a sabbatical of sorts.

Then I thought some more and realized that I have enjoyed the group too much and, despite my recent spotty participation, I have been a pretty faithful member for 31 months. The good little student in me has a desire to see it through to the end.


So, I decided to stay the course and go mini. I admire the people who can bake and not sample but I am not, and don’t anticipate ever, being one of them.

As for the galette, I made it into a mini tart. I had it in my head that I didn’t want to mess with pie dough (and its long chill) and I then I decided to make tart dough without my food processor which was a total pain and probably not worth it in the end. Other than that, I followed the recipe and, frankly, my tart was a little tart. I liked it and so did Jamie but I don’t think I will make it again. Too many other outstanding recipes to go back to.

Next week: rewind. Will I make one of the cranberry recipes I missed with my leftover cranberries? Will I skip ahead and go for the devilish turnovers? I haven’t a clue.

4 responses to “TWD: Cranberry Lime Tartlette

  1. i love how pretty this dessert looks:) cant wait to try it out. thanks for sharing this.

  2. Great idea, makin’ minis. I need to think more about my pants. I think about them every time I squeeze them on. ;)

  3. Making mini’s can definitely help. As long as you only make one mini ;)

  4. I am definitely feeling dessert overload too! Your mini looks great, very tempting

Leave a Reply

