TWD: Corny Muffins that Caused Consternation

Pictures will be up later…

Boy, I would love this to be a post about a sweet home cooked dinner accompanied by from scratch corniest corn muffins.  Alas.  It is not to be.  It could have been.  It even started that way…

All was going well.  Will asked to help with dinner so we made the muffins together.  I even let him use the sharp knife on some green peppers and he was thrilled.  We all sat down for some beans and rice and muffins.  Colin announced that he should try something new and would like a corn muffin.  After I picked myself up off the floor, I gave him one.   He ate a bite and said he liked it.  Angels sang.  And then.  And then…

The scourge of siblinghood appeared.  Will – with OBVIOUS AND MALICIOUS glee  - announced that there were actual corn kernels in the muffin.  Colin reacted just as we all new he would.  The muffin was pronounced inedible and no amount of reasoning and cajoling could convince him otherwise.  He tried to pick the corn out which resulted in a very sad pile of crumbs.  It is a very good thing that looks can’t kill.  I do not aspire to matricide and I gave Will a good one.  so did his father.

There are parts of parenthood that being an only child just didn’t prepare me for.

Next week: More muffins.  and I may try to get to the pots de creme I missed last week.  Full recipe at My Next Life.

7 responses to “TWD: Corny Muffins that Caused Consternation

  1. I hate it when one of my kids does that…Im like darn..they would not have known if you didn’t tell them:)

  2. Isn’t parenthood the best. Non-stop laughs.

  3. aww too bad to hear that… sounds like a good time though :)

  4. That’s funny! I still do things like that to my brother, as he’s very picky. I love making him zucchini cake. My mother doesn’t find it all that amusing either, even though we’ve both been on our own for a long time. Old habits die hard, I guess! :)

  5. sounds like something one of my brothers would have done to me! maybe we should just feed kids blindfolded?!

  6. Oh I remember those days so well…they grow out of it somewhat, still little pills about certain quirky things. Fun to hear about. Okay…I am here to get caught up because my blog reading/commenting sort of, okay I admit, REALLY went by the wayside during high school swimming season where Matt was doing High School Swimming, USA Swimming, and Operation Omaha (training for Olympic Time Trials) and I was going nuts trying to keep up with everything all that entailed for parents. You inbox is about to be hit!

  7. This is the type of thing that will make for a really great story when the kids are older!

Leave a Reply

