TWD: Delayed Strawberry Apple Double Crisp

To detail all of the reasons as to why I am posting last week’s strawberry dessert over this week’s apple tourte would send you into a full on boredom coma in less time than it takes to type Rhubarb.  The short (and ample on its own) reason is that I ended up with 4+ lbs of strawberries on Sunday.  What I did not end up with is any rhubarb.  Actually, I didn’t go looking for it.  For the record, I didn’t go looking for the strawberries either.  I did happen to have two lonely apples in the fruit bowl.  Since I and everyone else within shouting distance has had their fill of apples as a snack until next fall, I quickly decided they would make a great substitute for rhubarb.  I don’t like crystallized ginger so I didn’t go looking for it all.

In short, great dessert and I was ready for some dessert.  If I get my hands on some rhubarb before I exhaust the 3lbs of remaining strawberries, I might just make it again.

4 responses to “TWD: Delayed Strawberry Apple Double Crisp

  1. Definitely worth going in search of rhubarb…that said, this looks perfectly worthy and delicious all on its own!

  2. glad you enjoyed it–thanks for baking along with me a week later!

  3. This was really good with rhubarb and I just found frozen which worked well. I’m sure this variation was great, too!

  4. Nicely done. Love that you used your goodies around the house.
    AmyRuth

Leave a Reply

