TWD: still breathing….

Yup.  I am still around.  I have been lurking a bit but not baking much.  If I start relaying how crazy this summer was and how I never meant to take an extended break, I probably won’t stop for 37 pages and we still won’t have discussed TWD.  While lurking, it came to my attention that TWD will be finished by the end of the year.  I started baking along in April 2008.  That is a lifetime ago in some respects (and about two weeks ago in others).   The point is…it’s a long time to bake along and not finish.

so?

So, I am finishing.  I wish I could say that I had today’s flip over plum cake to report on but we ate all the plums in 2.6 seconds.   I will make it though, along with a few others I missed, and, if all goes according to plan (hollow laugh), I will even post about it.

For today, I can report that Colin (above – shiner courtesy of playground roughhousing) and Will enjoyed the classic brownies.  I tried a small bite but not enough to make a definitive conclusion about them.   They seemed dandy but Dorie has enough good brownie recipes that I probably won’t go back to these soon.

I also made the salt+pepper cocoa shortbreads.  Salt+pepper+sweet is exactly the kind of weird food I love.  I, therefore, could only make half a batch and immediately took all but one to work.  If they hadn’t been shortbread (eh), I probably would have devoured them in the car on the way.  What I tasted I did like and will probably crave until I breakdown and make a bowl of dough and eat it standing at the kitchen counter.

All pictures will be iphone photos now officially.  The incredible “hassle” of downloading photos has thwarted more than blog post in my past.  So, I officially give in to my laziness. 

I am really going to make an effort to be back next week and the week after that.  Get used to me folks.  I am sticking around for awhile.

4 responses to “TWD: still breathing….

  1. Glad you’re back! I loved the brownies, but I love all brownies! I missed the pepper shortbread cookies. They looked yummy, I’ll make them soon.
    See you next week.

  2. I liked the shortbreads a lot! My cake, well, I wasn’t sure when I was making it but it turned out great. Welcome back!

  3. Welcome back! I hope you had a great summer! It’s hard to believe fall is here again so soon!
    Your cookie look great and it sounds like your boys are enjoying all of your baked goods!
    Happy Fall Baking!

  4. Welcome back. I joined just a month before you and by golly- I am gonna finish as well.
    The flip over cake is really nice and looks like it works well with what ever fruit you have going. Handy when cooking for boys!

Leave a Reply

