First Post

One of my best helpers in the kitchenWelcome to my blog.  I have started this blog to chronicle my cooking adventures with my two boys, ages 6 and 3.  They are very enthusiastic in the kitchen, especially for the end results!  We have just finished a birthday cake for grandpa….will post pictures when it is finished. 

I am very novice but enthusiastic baker.  So, when I enter the kitchen and try something new there are always lessons to be learned.  This effect magnifies when cookng with *young* kids.  For example, with this cake, I learned a valuable lesson about cooling the layers.  One would think that the counter is a logical place to cool your cakes.  I thought so too until I came back to discover the 3 yr old had been “snacking” on one of the layers.  Very fortunate that this was a cake for a grandparent…a category of people preternaturally disposed to finding all foibles of their grandchildren (and their grandchilren’s resulting projects) adorable.  I did try to take a picture of the architecturally challenged (yet tasty) cake but I am having some technical difficulties with my camera. 

3 responses to “First Post

  1. Hi! I see you are as new to the blogging world as I am. I like the layout you chose, I am having some difficulty with mine. As in limitations to what you can do with it. If you have a chance, check it out and offer any suggestions! BTW – I have been baking with my children for years and have encountered the same “missing pieces” dilemma, but it’s usually my husband that does it!!!!

  2. Very pretty and delicate looking. Love the pale pink.

  3. Sounds like you are having a great time baking with your boys. They are both adorable! 🙂

Leave a Reply

