Chocolate Sorbet: Really?

I love ice cream.  My kids looovvvee ice cream.  We own an ice cream maker.  We haven’t used it since we had kids.  I know.  Go figure.  It finally occurred to me that this is has been a major oversight in our kitchen adventures.  So, I promised the kids we would make homemade ice cream over the weekend.  Of course, that was before I ate my way through a polenta and ricotta cake. 

I had planned to dust off an old cookbook devoted solely to ice cream when I ran across the Chocolate Sorbet recipe in “Baking from my Home to Yours.”  I thought I would give that book a rest over the weekend but the (relative) lightness of the ingredients was intriguing.  I usually do not consider sorbet a substitute for ice cream.  You either want one or the other.   And I don’t usually want sorbet.  BUT after 26 pieces of polenta cake I was game.

Consider me converted.  The sorbet was super easy to make and was fantastic.  I am still a fan of the super creamy rich ice cream but I am also a fan of this chocolate sorbet.  The base reminded me of making pudding and the house smelled fantastic.  It will become a “go to” recipe this summer.  I am already planning some future alterations. 

Chocolate Sorbet
Paraphrased from “Baking from my Home to Yours”
Ingredients:
3/4 cup sugar
1 c. milk
1 c. water
7 oz. bittersweet chocolate
Stir all ingredients together in a medium saucepan over medium heat.  Bring to a boil, stirring frequently.  Reduce heat and boil for 5 more minutes, stirring occasionally.  Watch pan to ensure mixture doesn’t boil over.  Pour mixture into heat proof container and chill.  Use ice cream maker according to manufacturer’s instructions.
Leave a Reply

