Yeast Bread: Nemesis No More?

Who doesn’t love the smell, taste and texture of freshly baked bread?  These sensory delights must explain why I keep – after many MANY failed attempts – trying to make my own bread.  That and the fact that I am horrified every time I read the labels in the bread aisle.  Enriched that, high fructose corn syrup this.  About every six weeks or so, I get fed up and try to make my own loaves.  They are edible but never very palatable.  

Part of my problem is what motivates me to knead to begin with…I want it healthy.  I am always scaling down the recipe to its bare bones and I am clearly not talented enough to make it work (yet).  So, I finally owned up to my shortcomings and went for a nice white flour molasses two toned bread.  Huzzah!  Success! 

I made one loaf (wary of wasting ingredients on yet another middling experiment) yesterday and it is all gone.  My son told me it was the “bestest bread” I ever made.  Hmmm…I love marble rye and now I am feeling confident.  More success in the future?  We shall see….

The recipe (coming soon) is Two Tone Bread adapted from the Better Homes and Gardens Recipe Collection 2003 which my mother-in-law was nice enough to give me after I spent an inordinate amount of leafing through it at her house.

One response to “Yeast Bread: Nemesis No More?

  1. For regular bread I use the simplest recipe

    750g bread flour (either white or brown or a mixture – usually 250g to 500g)

    3 teaspoons yeast
    2 teaspoons salt
    3 tablespoons of canola or vegetable oil
    500ml lukewarm water

    Mix all dry ingredients together, add oil. Add enough water to bind the mixture together into a dough – you may need all, a little less or a little more depending on the flour.

    Knead dough well for approx 5 mins

    Allow dough to rise in a large covered (plastic wrap, plastic bag or tea towel will suffice) container for approx 1 hour

    Knead again for approx 5 mins

    Split dough in two and shape bread – either placing into a bread pan or onto a baking tray. Make sure to line either with baking parchment. Cover with a tea towel.

    Allow to rise for 1 hour

    Bake at 400oF for 20mins

    Enjoy

    I hope that works for you, it’s quick, easy and tasty. I look forward to trying your marble bread recipe!

    Louise

Leave a Reply

