TWD: Ode to a Cherry Pitter

As I was pitting cherries for the cobbler this week, I was immediately and immensely grateful for my humble little cherry pitter.  I have pitted cherries pre-pitter and it is just plain annoying.  That got me thinking about other little advances that make life easier.  While I am eternally grateful for the big things like anesthetic, indoor plumbing, and electricity (my husband always says he doesn’t camp because his ancestors would have killed for toilets and AC and he isn’t one to spit on their memory), I am thinking of the little things.  You know…the stuff that you wish you had thought of.  So, today I am grateful for:

  • self adhesive stamps
  • flip top toothpaste tubes
  • mega rolls of toilet paper
  • washable markers
  • flip top soup cans
  • resealable bags of brown sugar and raisins
  • adjustable baby bath tubs
  • Tide pens

The cobbler?  Oh yeah, the cobbler.  This week’s Tuesdays with Dorie recipe was Cherry Rhubarb Cobbler chosen by Amanda from Like Sprinkles on a Cupcake.  And it was OK.  Fine.  Good.  We liked it but we didn’t love it.  I don’t have much experience as a consumer or baker of rhubarb.  I wouldn’t say I was a convert.  With so many great recipes in Dorie’s book I doubt this is one I will come back to unless I end up with a surplus of rhubarb.  Since that hasn’t happened before in my 36 years, don’t look for this one again.

My dough didn’t exactly make it into balls.

Check out the many many many cobblers here.  Next week:  Summer Fruit Galette.

21 responses to “TWD: Ode to a Cherry Pitter

  1. yea i definitely need a pitter… i can justify the purchase by pitting olives too 😉 your cobbl-ettes look tasty!

  2. i have never used a tide pen, but sounds like a good thing! too bad you weren’t crazy about the cobblers…for me, it was the sweet cherries that i didn’t like so much.

  3. I’m impressed – I went with pre-pitted frozen cherries, but if I had a cherry pitter I might have done the dirty work myself. And since when did a cobbler have to look neat?

  4. Now I need a cherry pitter! I like how nicely browned your biscuits turned out.

  5. Wow, I forgot about the self adhesive stamps. I had forgotten about licking those yucky things.

    Your cobbler looks great!

  6. i wish i had a cherry pitter – that was awful!!
    sorry you didn’t like it – maybe next week will be better!

  7. “my husband always says he doesn’t camp because his ancestors would have killed for toilets and AC and he isn’t one to spit on their memory”

    I almost spit out my coffee laughing when I read this… my parents completely agree with your husband, which is why I didn’t try camping until I was almost 20. 😉 Beautiful cobbler and amen to the list of conveniences!

  8. My pitter is ancient but it works. However, I do still have pitter envy right now. LOL about your DH not spitting on the memory of his ancestors!

  9. That pitter looked kind of scary at first! Great job! Cobbler looks tasty!

  10. Like everyone else, the power of suggestion from that photo of the cherry pitter…dreaming of that one for sure as you should have seen my counter, cutting boards, hands, towels, sink, etc. etc. from the mess of pitting those cherries…but they were so worth it.

    Your last photo looks delish…can’t believe you didn’t care for it…well, maybe another day, another fruit….Thanks for sharing!

  11. Love the mini-cobblers! Sorry you weren’t crazy about them.

  12. I love your little list of things to be grateful for, though I’ve no idea what a tide pen is. And how about strawberry hullers, and remote controls, and microplanes, and … The thing with rhubarb is to add some more sugar if you don’t like things tart. I love the individual cobblers.

  13. I can just say AMEN to self ahesive stamps! esp after sending out 100+ wedding invitations last year! HAHA. I wasn’t a cobbler fan this time around but at least we tried and now we know right? Great job!
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  14. Cherry pitters are the best! I bought one for the last DB challenge and it was so much fun to use! Sorry you weren’t ga-ga over your cobbler, but at least you found reasons to be thankful! That’s always a good thing!

  15. I put off buying a cherry pitter for years because it is such a specialized product that I knew wouldn’t get much use. Now that I have one, even though it only gets used a few times a year, I love it! At least for a minimally used item it is small and doesn’t take up much space.

  16. Beautiful cobbler.

    My boyfriend would get along just fine with your husband. His idea of “roughing it” is a hotel without an internet connection or cell coverage. 🙂

  17. Oh, a cherry pitter. That would have been wonderful. White walls + flying cherry juice is a bad combination.

  18. It’s amazing how little things make a world of difference!

    I think your cobbler looks amazing and the dough looks just fine. :o)

    I look forward to your post next week.

  19. I love your list of things to be thankful for!! I love my cherry pitter too, even tho’ it’s hardly used!
    Shari@Whisk: a food blog

  20. I did mine by hand. It was cherry carnage. I’m sorry you aren’t a rhubarb convert. We’ll get you yet!

  21. Pingback: TWD: SUMMER! Fruit Galette « Baking with the Boys

Leave a Reply

