The saddest little layer cake

My son’s fourth birthday was last weekend.  We have a little mini tradition of candy topped birthday cakes for the kids.  It started with my older son who has the unfortunate luck of having his birthday the day after Christmas.  I am terrible at decorating and on Christmas night (he likes to wake up to his cake)….there is no chance.  The candy was a cute and easy way to make his cake fun.

Well, I got a little distracted decorating this year (and I don’t even have a holiday excuse) and didn’t adequately even out the cake layers.  They weren’t balanced too well.  When the frosting hit, it was all over.  Will was helping and we were lucky to keep it as together as we did.  Fortunately, Colin is four and hasn’t developed an eye for perfection.  It had candles, candy and chocolate.  What more can you ask for?

3 responses to “The saddest little layer cake

  1. Awww. It’s made with love. I think that makes it special.

    My mom would make our birthday cakes until we were old enough to demand the uber pretty bakery cakes, and the one that I treasure most was a devil’s food cake with 7 minute frosting and M&Ms.

    Your kids will treasure these memories.

  2. Heehee. My birthday is two days after Christmas, so I bet my Mom always felt just like you. My experience with birthday boys and girls of all ages is that “It’s A CAKE! For Me! With frosting! Yay!” In other words, don’t sweat it too much! 🙂 How’s that for extremely unhelpful advice from a childless 23 year old?

  3. Oh, well. Colin didn’t notice, right? I think it looks cute no matter what!

Leave a Reply

