TWD: Otherwise known as Sundays with Pepto

I will keep this short.  I made the Chocolate Banded Ice-Cream Torte (chosen by Amy of Food, Family and Fun) on Saturday night and planned to serve it on Sunday.  This post was originally going to be about how all of the stops and starts with the recipe forced me to come up with activities for the kids during each “freezing period.”  (see below for bonus recipe).  Well, that was until Sunday morning hit…

I want to preface by saying that I was not nervous about the eggs in the ganache.  I am not a super adventurous eater, but I am definitely not a squeamish eater.  I lick the bowl.  I believe in the 5 second rule – maybe longer.  I share drinks.  With my kids.  But I was the only one who ate any of the ganache on Saturday and I was the only one whose stomach was in full revolt on Sunday.  Maybe it was the uncooked eggs?  Maybe it was leaving the ganache on the counter?  Maybe nothing related at all.  My husband and I always joke that I could digest rocks so who knows. 

Unfortunately, my suspicions were raised and I couldn’t -ingood conscience – serve it to anyone else.   I threw it out.  All of it.  Killed my soul a little.  I made the caramel sauce from the back of the book and swirled it through the vanilla ice cream.  I also added malted powder because malted powder makes everything better.  Thankfully, I only made a 6 incher but somewhere my 95yr old FRUGAL grandma had a little heart palpitation when it the trash bin.

The pictures aren’t good because I just didn’t care at that point.  I left the torte out while I ate lunch on Monday to soften.  It passed soften to melty.  I will try to read the other blogs this week but no promises.  I am not feeling love for the torte.

Next week: Chunky Peanut Butter and Oatmeal Chocolate Chipsters.  I was planning to make these last Sunday for Operation Baking Gals.  HA!  Check out the other non toxic tortes here.

Bonus Recipe:  One of our Saturday night activities was making homemade sidewalk paint out of a kids craft book.  Mix 1/4 quarter cup cornstarch with 1/4 cup cold water.  Add food coloring.  Tah Dah!

13 responses to “TWD: Otherwise known as Sundays with Pepto

  1. I hope it’s OK that I laughed when I read your post – Sundays with Pepto, oh dear! I used pasteurized eggs, but that ganache sat out on the counter for several hours. I’m planning to serve it this evening; hope nobody gets a tummy ache…
    It’s never fun to throw away food – my dad was a product of the Depression and boy it killed him to let any food go to waste.

  2. Oh boy do I feel for you – so sorry that you were sick! I do all the same things as you (5 sec rule, sharing drinks, etc) and I’m sure it was just a fluke thing that you got sick. At least I hope it was.

    With our 110 degree days, I wasn’t taking any chances. Hope your feeling better soon, and I’ll think of some recipes for your little picky eater to try.

  3. Oh…I am so very sorry.

    We didn’t have any problems with ours.

    I sure hope you feel better soon.

  4. oh sad! It looks amazing, and the addition of malt powder sounds like a great idea. Cookies should be safer though.

  5. Sorry that you got sick. No fun at all! I haven’t served my torte yet and now I’m nervous.

  6. oh, i hope you are all better.
    whenever I have a baking catastophe, I tell my Hub to throw it out when I am not there. It hurts my feelings too much to do it myself.

  7. I am so sorry you were sick. I have no problem eating batter, or licking bowls and spoons, but the eight raw eggs did make me a little nervous. I wasn’t able to buy pasteurized eggs, so I pasteurized them myself. Not sure if it really did anything, but you can read about my results on my post if you are interested.

  8. Oh NO!!!! I am so sorry that you were sick! The egg thing really made me squeamish as well, and I am also a bowl licking/pick-it-up-off-the-floor-and-eat-it kind of girl. Your sidewalk chalk looks awesome — I’ll need to try that with my kiddos. Your boys are precious!

  9. I’m so sorry to hear that this might have made you sick!

    I also worked out a way to heat the eggs, although I haven’t posted it yet (because we haven’t actually EATEN them yet). I was nervous about leaving the ganache out, too, so I didn’t. I put it back in the fridge, then set it in a larger bowl of hot tap water and whisked until it was a good spreading consistency. Seemed to work.

  10. Oh no, I’m so sorry you got sick 😦 And I can feel your pain throwing something out, there’s nothing worse than putting time, effort, and all of those ingredients in the garbage. I’m sure you’ll have much better luck with next weeks cookies, I can’t wait to give them a try.

    Thank you so much for that sidewalk paint recipe, I will have to give that a try, I bet my kids will have a blast! What a fun idea!

  11. Oh what a tragedy! I’m sorry about your torte. I”m dong mine egg free next time for sure. I’ve made those sidewalk paints before and they went over big around here.

  12. I hope you’re feeling better! I was lucky enough to find pasteurized eggs at my grocery store. I’m with you–licking spoons and stuff doesn’t bother me, but the idea of that many raw eggs in one thing made me nervous.

  13. How terrible!!! I’m so sorry that this happened to you. Since no one else got sick, it’s hard not to think the eggs might have been the culprit. I don’t usually worry about this kind of stuff, but I used the egg beaters just to be safe! Anyway, I hope you felt better very soon after this!

Leave a Reply

