TWD: Crack Cocaine Drops

 

That title may be a little dramatic.  But just a little.  These cookies, Chocolate Malted Whopper Drops, are dangerous, I tell you.  Dangerous.  I have personally never had crack or cocaine and it is not because I have always treated my body as a temple or because I have always had an impeccable sense of right and wrong.  (I did go away to college, which pretty much nullifies both of those possibilities.)  No, it is because I know my personality type.   Had I indulged in the more addictive substances it would not have served as a later amusing oh-weren’t-we-all-having-fun-at-Studio-54-it-was-crazy-times-I-tell-you! anecdote.  No.  It would have resembled a bad dateline exposé on suburban kids gone wrong complete with oily hair, rotted teeth and crying parents.  It would have been ugly.

 What on Earth does this have to do with Whopper Drops?  Well, I love me some malted milk powder.  I had a chocolate malt instead of cake for my birthday.  Malted milk balls are my favorite candy (the double dipped kind preferably – I haven’t actually had a whopper in years).  I even put malted powder into my tainted ice cream torte.

I saw that Susan of She’s Becoming Doughmesstic made these awhile back and gave them rave reviews and I had to stop myself from making them then  (it helped that I had just made some malted cupcakes that I never blogged about….maybe someday).  I just knew it would be ugly.  Well, that day came this week thanks to Rachel of Confessions of Tangerine Tart.

 (picture is horrible.  taken early this morning.  malted “high” prevented me from remembering to take some saturday).

 I could have eaten the batter in one sitting.  It was like the best mix of a chocolate malt and cookies.  I wanted to try these with the big fancy malted milk balls but didn’t have the time to get them.  So, whoppers it was.  I would like to try them with the other but I probably shouldn’t.  It can’t be good for you to eat 30 cookies a day.  I told myself I was going to eat two.  HA!  I had to put some of these in the freezer to slow down the consumption.

 I baked for a little over twelve minutes and they were a little soft but I liked them that way.  I should probably just rip this page out of my book before I do further damage.  Oh, who am I kidding?  I would just consume a million cookies in my attempt to recreate the recipe.  Damn you, Dorie.

 On an unrelated topic, a couple other bloggers have been sweet enough to bestow some awards on my neglected blog.  I have been buried with work and personal stuff lately and plan to get those up and redistributed this week!  I am even going to try to read a bunch of these blogs tonight.  Who knows…I might get wacky and actually post those malted cupcakes or something else this week.

 Next Week: Chocolate Chunkers.  Will my waistline ever recover?

Check out the other crack whopper drops here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

16 responses to “TWD: Crack Cocaine Drops

  1. That’s funny – a friend of mine described these as crack cookies. I think the batter is much more like crack than the cookies themselves, but different strokes!

  2. Your post title is not one bit too dramatic. These cookies are downright dangerous! Funny, I also put some of mine in a freezer bag and dated with a sharpie — as if they would last long enough for me to have to worry about freezer burn. Ha! Glad you enjoyed these too!!

  3. Well, at least your addiction is a safe one. I mean, I don’t have to worry about you being arrested for Malted While Driving, do I?

  4. I love it! That’s exactly what these babies are! I swear I couldn’t stop eating them. Great job! They look delicious!

  5. Your title was indicative of my addiction too. I loved them! Yours look deelsih!

  6. Hahaha – Okay, as a fellow lover of these cookies, that title is in no way dramatic. It’s just the truth.

  7. You crack me up! I think I have the same personality so I’ve avoided hanging out with Britney Spears, et al. But that doesn’t stop me from eating lots and lots! 🙂 And it is legal!

  8. Yes, it’s like crack. I agree.

  9. Omg. LOVE the name. I think you should petition Dorie to change it (just make sure you get your commission). HAHA. Great job!
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  10. I totally agree with your new name for these way too addictive cookies! TOO GOOD!

  11. This was a GREAT post! Thanks for making me smile so early in the morning when I should be doing so many other things. By the way, I couldn’t tell…did you like these? :o) If (when) you try them with the other malt balls, be sure to post about it.

  12. LOL on the name!! I’m impressed with your restraint and freezing some …all our cookies went straight from the cooling rack into our mouths!

    Do share on the malted cupcakes!!!

  13. Great post! I agree that they were like crack- I couldn’t stop eating them!

  14. Great post on these cookies I’ve been seeing all over the food blog world! Love it.
    I’m about to join TWD and am going to have to make these cookies even though I just missed this Tuesday. Such rave reviews. But I’m worried, I can’t eat too many either, so hmmm. Prepare to give them away, I suppose!

  15. See, once they’re in the freezer, they just get cold. It certainly doesn’t slow me down!

  16. OMW, I am laughing hysterically at your post this week…so funny. I can so see you eating that batter…LOL. And, I am pretty sure they frown on us all cursing Dorie like that…LOL.

    That said, the boys over here were eating them by the handfulls and they wanted more when those were all gone. And, get this…mine didn’t look anything like the glorious ones you made! Flat, crispy…not fluffy and chewy, so I guess this recipe is fool proof because those cookies are getting eaten no matter what they LOOK LIKE!

    Fun post…always enjoy my time here.

Leave a Reply

