Brownies my A**

Take a look at this picture and tell me if youthink this resembles a brownie.  I think not. 

These are one of the “black bean brownie” recipes that are floating around.  Normally, I don’t like to confuse health food with dessert.  Never the twain shall meet for me.  When refusing to buy some non-food food item like purple applesauce or “fruit snacks”  (I love that fruit is even in the name), I tell my kids that we eat real food at meals so we can enjoy junk food for junk food.

Well, that works for one of them…because he actually eats the real food.  The other one?  Not so much.  So, yes, I am trying to sneak some good foods (and fiber!) into his diet.  I thought I would give these a shot.  Who doesn’t love brownies?

I don’t know what happened.  They boiled and boiled in the oven and never seemed to become the least bit brownie like.  I finally took them out and chilled them.  Forever.  Still goo.  If you have any clues, let me know.  Meanwhile, I will probably fold this into some ice cream or something.  I added some oat bran and raisins to Alton Brown’s chocolate chip cookies.  I will post those results another time.

Black Bean Brownies (from allrecipes.com)

  • 1 (15.5 ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon instant coffee (optional – I added it and you could really taste the coffee which I thought was unusal)
  • 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips (optional – I forgot these)
    1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Lightly grease an 8×8 square baking dish.
    2. Combine the black beans, eggs, oil, cocoa powder, salt, vanilla extract, sugar, and instant coffee in a blender; blend until smooth; pour the mixture into the prepared baking dish. Sprinkle the chocolate chips over the top of the mixture.
    3. Bake in the preheated oven until the top is dry and the edges start to pull away from the sides of the pan, about 30 minutes.  
    6 responses to “Brownies my A**

    1. The title says it all. That cracked me up! Good try though…

    2. Uh, those don’t look like brownies, Kelly. There isn’t any flour in the recipe? Unusual.

      But I give you credit for trying!!

    3. That does not resemble a brownie, no. Although it does go along well with the A** theme in the title. Forget the beans, go for the regular ones!

    4. I’m sorry these didn’t turn out for you! I’ve been curious about the black bean brownie recipes but haven’t tried it yet, I’ll stay away from that one. I totally agree about serving the kids real food and letting a treat be a treat. Thanks for posting your experience. My two year old is so super picky, and I’m always trying to find extra nutritious food he enjoys, so I understand where you are coming from.

    5. I say if you are gonna eat a brownie – don’t try to make it a healthy one! 🙂 I love gooey ones.

    6. I made them and they were fine, but I didn’t use that recipe. Mine was much easier!
      1 can black beans, pureed
      1 box brownie mix
      some chocolate chips

      Mix the pureed beans with brownie mix and bake as directed. They taste best when served warm.

    Leave a Reply

    