TWD: Biscotti Virgin

If coffee tasted as good as it smells, I would be addicted.  But, to me, it tastes like skunk.  Yes, I know you can fancy it up with cream and sugar and complicated flavorings but then it might as well be dessert.  And I don’t want dessert to be something I barely remember at 7:30am because I need my “dessert” to function at that hour and, for the love of Mike, is that dessert done brewing yet?   Coffee is one of those things I sort of wish I enjoyed (like Brie – I keep trying to be an adult and like it but…blech).  But I just can’t go there.

Oh, don’t get me wrong, I like real official desserts that happen to have coffee flavoring.  In high school, I discovered coffee ice cream malts with hot fudge (sweet Jesus!) and I am a sucker for anything mocha.  I even went through a brief Frappuccino phase when I first started practicing law.  I gave both up cause they made me jittery and unpleasant.

So, I had zero frame of reference for this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie.  Gretchen of Canela and Comino chose Lenox Almond Biscotti (full recipe on her blog).  Biscotti = cookie paired with coffee.  Me = no biscotti.  It has never once occurred to me to buy, eat or make biscotti.  I was flying blind here.  One thing I did know was that mine wouldn’t be almond biscotti.  I had literally one drop of almond extract and no almonds to be found. 

 So, I opted for dried pear and apricot flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.  In a bit of inspired frugality, I even dried my own pear.  It was almost past ripe and I just knew it was destined to rot alone on the counter without some intervention.

  The marching band?  More like a spine…

I was surprised how much I enjoyed these.  They were smaller and thinner than the fancy ones at the coffee shop down the block.  I ate one on Sunday (my baking day) and had two crunched into my yogurt on Monday.  I quickly put the rest in the kitchen at work.  Starting the week gorging on cookies for breakfast just isn’t a good idea.  But, I can definitely envision making these for some holiday gifts (maybe orange dipped in dark chocolate…yum).  Maybe even a little something for hot chocolate…but it’s not that season…yet. 

So, thanks to Gretchen for exposing me to something new.  Check out the marching band biscotti here.  Next week:  Pumpkin muffins.  My son already wants to know how many we are making for home and not work.   

30 responses to “TWD: Biscotti Virgin

  1. I was thinking about crumbling these up in yogurt or pudding, but they didn’t last long in my house! Yours sound delicious. Your kids are too cute!

  2. yogurt! that’s inspired! i’d thought of ice cream, but since i can’t eat it too often (too many baked goods already), i had to cross that off the list. but yogurt, i eat that every day. thanks for the great tip!

  3. I don’t drink coffee either so I had never made them before. Yours look like they turned out great!!

  4. I had never had biscotti either, and I am with you on the whole coffee thing. blech!

  5. quelle bonne idée les poires et abricots séchés 🙂

  6. Drying your own pears? Too cool! I must admit, it took drinking nastily sweet lattes at starbucks before I got used to drinking coffee black, but now it’s the only way I can drink it. Otherwise, it just doesn’t taste enough like coffee. Weird how those things work, huh?

  7. I think your variations sound great! I was out of almond myself so I went with the vanilla and added some cinnamon. Yours turned out beautifully!

  8. Never had biscotti! Well, these are probably the best biscotti you will ever eat! don’t try them from Starbucks or anything – they’ll never be the same!

    Gorgeous biscotti!

  9. Love the bat wings! Where’d you find those?
    The biscotti looks great. Like you, I’m thinking that these will be great for Christmas gifts.

  10. Ok, you totally threw the rest of us out of the ball park with this one. Drying your own pear? Sheesh!!

    Orange sounds lovely – I’d like to try that one, and soon!!

  11. great idea on the pear and apricot! yum. lol about the coffee — i once told my husband that i want my coffee “to taste like coffee ice cream and not like coffee” 😉

  12. I have to doctor up my coffee, when I do get around to making any. Great job changing things up a little! You really should try it with almond next time! Yummy!

    What a cute little bat you had in your yard!

  13. Love your flavorings for these!

  14. Your bsicotti looks great. This was the first time I’ve made it and I loved them. Great job!

  15. I love the smell of coffee, but can’t stand the flavor. And I’d never had biscotti before either. I love the picture of your biscotti all lines up, as well as the ones of your kiddos. =)

  16. Your biscotti looks wonderful! I love coffee… good coffee that is.

    Cherie
    *Weekly Giveaways on my blog!
    http://www.craftyjuicebroker.wordpress.com

    *Sale on my Etsy Store!
    http://www.craftyjuicebroker.etsy.com

  17. Glad that this recipe has initiated you into the world of biscotti. Once you’ve had homemade, you’ll never be able to eat store bought biscotti again…great job, and I really liked your flavor additions!

  18. Dried pear and apricot!!! What a great combo!!!

  19. Great post…I loved it all. Very funny about the jittery coffee thing…I am the same way…no coffee here either, but it did not stop me from enjoying the biscotti.

  20. Oh, pear and apricot biscotti sounds heavenly. And how domestic diva of you to dry the pear yourself! I can vouch that these are awesome in hot chocolate (not a coffee drinker either) but that doesn’t really help the “dessert for breakfast” objection.

  21. biscotti are great with tea or ice cream, too! yours look wonderful.
    i’d love a piar of those bat wings!

  22. What a fantastic flavor combination. I might have to make these again…

  23. I love the flavor combination that you used and especially that you dried your own pears. We dried pears too and they are a great snack!

  24. Even if you don’t like coffee, these are wonderful dipped in milk or hot cocoa! I didn’t make mine until this morning and have never made biscotti before in my life. I’m really glad i did, they are wonderful!

  25. Your own dried pear in this with the biscotti sound delicious!!

  26. I had to laugh about you giving up “both” because they made you jittery. I haven’t practiced in, oh, 21.5 years! Coffee ice cream is my absolute favorite. I do like coffee but can’t do much caffeine, so haven’t developed a habit. I’ll drink it, or tea, or hot chocolate, but mostly water. Happily, the biscotti seem to be delicious with all of the above. Your yogurt idea is great. Way to go on the home-dried fruit.

  27. Another non-coffee drinker here too! Love the pics of your boys! Glad you enjoyed the biscotti. I was pleasantly surprised too 🙂
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  28. Come to think of it, mochas and frappucinos make me jittery and unpleasant too, but I still drink them, because, you know, when in (unpleasant) Rome . . . Your dried fruit idea is fabulous! I am glad you liked these!. I’ve heard that native Italians sometimes dip these in wine — maybe that would be more to your liking? Cute pics of the boys with the leaves! Your son in the first picture looks like he is thisclose to actually flying!

  29. Coffee is a weakness for me! Glad you did enjoy the biscotti and your add-ins sound delicious! thanks for particiapting!

  30. Just me again! Dropping in to let you know that I have an award for you! Stop by when you can.

Leave a Reply

