TWD: Rugewhat?

…And I still don’t really know what rugelach tastes like.  But, first, WHERE ARE THE PICURES?  They are being held hostage by my home computer, which has no internet connection at the moment.  As best as I can gather, some kid friendly liquid ended up sloshing through the modem.  Good times.

        Back to the rugelach.  The pictures will come, but I must warn you they are FRIGHTENING.  Worthy of a haunted Halloween kitchen.  I don’t know what happened to the dough.  I followed the instructions EXACTLY.  It was unrollable and unshapeable.  It wouldn’t hold together.  I forged ahead but with pitiable results.  Too bad, too, as my filling was blackberry jam with chocolate.  It was pretty tasty.  I was particularly irritated because I was trying to make them for a Halloween party at my house.  I subbed in Martha Stewart’s pumpkin-chocolate-chip squares at the last minute (fabulous!!).  If anyone has any suggestions (without photos, I know it’s difficult) as to where I may have gotten off track with the dough, please let me know.  I do want to try these again.       

        To actually see other cookies that bear striking resemblance to rugelach, click here.  For the full recipe visit Piggy at Piggy’s Cooking Journal.  The modem is supposedly being replaced Tuesday, but I won’t be able to post the pictures or read anyone’s blog until Wednesday.  I am working ALLLLLL day Tuesday at the polls.  If you haven’t already (if you have I am jealous.  Hey Missouri General Assembly, we need that new fangled early voting cuz waiting in line for hours is very conducive to high turnout.)…VOTE!

16 responses to “TWD: Rugewhat?

  1. Sorry your dough didn’t work out but at least they were still tasty! My rugelach is pretty frightening, too! 🙂

  2. LOL @ title. We had the exact same title! Hope your pictures will be released from their hostile environment soon. 😉
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  3. That is too bad that your dough didn’t hold together….hmm not suggestions for you, sorry! Bummer about the modem too…aren’t kids great! 🙂

  4. Drat on your dough, but I bet they tasted wonderful.

    Can’t wait for the pictures.

  5. Aw, sorry yours didn’t turn out – let’s do a bake along next time (do you have skype?), because they are really easy (especially if you cheat and make bars like I did!)

  6. Sorry about your dough. At least you tried. I could not use my kitchen this weekend so I will have to make them later. Looking forward to your interesting pick on barefoot this month! Herbed Onions? Hmmm. Never had that before but I’ll give it a good try!
    I bet your rugelach tasted delicious.

  7. Oh — nothing gets my blood boiling quite like computer problems, except for maybe dough problems. I hope that one of the real bakers on TWD can help you troubleshoot. The best I can do is “maybe it was a goblin?” Good for you for working the polls and helping to preserve the integrity of the process! It’s got to be exciting to be in a real battleground state — I don’t think I saw even one political ad on TV here in Alabama. Yes, go vote indeed! I’ll look forward to seeing your pictures whenever technology is working for you again.

  8. Awww…sorry to hear about the dough! I’m a fellow TWD baker, and I was thinking that it would be nice if we all could chip in and get Laurie some small token/gift for all the work she does. Would you be willing to contribute? If I can get enough people, it would only be about $1 per person. No pressure 🙂 Let me know! bethberg12@yahoo.com

  9. That’s a shame about the dough — I found it really easy to work with. Was your kitchen really hot and humid (odd this time of year, but it’s all I can think of)?

  10. ouch, dough probs and internet probs!! sorry to hear that. i was cursing a lot at the dough, myself. good luck with those looong lines today…

  11. Good for you working at the polls. LOL on the pictures being held hostage. They sound good, though, so maybe you should just let us all picture them ourselves this week!

  12. Oh no! I hope your able to get your computer up and working! The bars you made sound delish, I wouldn’t give up on the rugelach, you may not have bad luck with it next time! I loved them and would be happy to make them again (and I didn’t have a food processor!)

  13. I’m sorry to hear about the mishaps that have befallen you. I am glad, though, that the rugelach were still tasty. Great job on helping out at the polls!!

  14. Blackberry and chocolate sounds like a really tasty combination. I’ve read about similar dough mishaps, so you’re not alone.

    Good luck with the modem!

  15. Pingback: TWD Revisited « Baking with the Boys

  16. Oh my goodness. Cake+pie+candy = awesomeness. Rock on!

Leave a Reply

