BB: Herb Roasted Onions? Yup!

dscn1491

Who in their right mind when surveying all of Ina Garten’s recipes would choose a dish of onions for the Barefoot Bloggers? Me, that’s who! I know. It kind of surprised me too. I did go through a raw onion love affair in my early twenties. During a couple of college summers, I worked at a racetrack. Every day for lunch we would eat in the trainers’ cafe. And every day I would get a turkey sandwich with red onions. One of my co-workers told me that I reminded her of an old lady. Fortunately, she never commented on what must have been some serious onion breath.

That period ended and I haven’t given onions a lot of thought since. I did, however, set some criteria for choosing a recipe — 1) easy – I know this is the time of year when people start to get busy in the kitchen with other things; 2) reasonable ingredients – time for me to spend money on toys, not truffles; and 3) a recipe I would pass over at first glance. Honestly, it had never occurred to me serve onions – just onions – as a dish.

dscn1488 I am crying just looking at all of these…

Happily, it all worked out for me. I really liked these. The only slight change I made was to cut down on the lemon but I never use as much as recipe calls for unless the recipe is intended to be lemon flavored. We had them with marinated portobello mushrooms and couscous. I would definitely suggest making the whole recipe. The leftovers were a nice addition to a veggie wrap the next day. My mom was over for dinner. She was extremely skeptical at first but raved about them later. My husband, not a fan of onions so much, thought I should have continued passing over this one. I disagree. If you skipped it, too, I hope you give it a try. You might be surprised.

Our next official recipe is Mexican Chicken Soup. I haven’t made it yet but plan to see a vegetarian version from me.

Herb Roasted Onions from Barefoot Contessa at Home (the one below is from the Food Network.  The recipe in the book has more servings.  I made that one.)

Ingredients

2 red onions
1 yellow onion
2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
1 teaspoon minced garlic
1/2 tablespoon minced fresh thyme leaves
3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/4 cup good olive oil
1/2 tablespoon minced fresh parsley leaves

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

Remove the stem end of each onion and carefully slice off the brown part of the root end, leaving the root intact. Peel the onion. Stand each onion root end up on a cutting board and cut the onion in wedges through the root. Place the wedges in a bowl.

For the dressing, combine the lemon juice, mustard, garlic, thyme, salt, and pepper in a large bowl. Slowly whisk in the olive oil. Pour the dressing over the onions and toss well.

With a slotted spoon, transfer the onions to a sheet pan, reserving the vinaigrette that remains in the bowl. Bake the onions for 30 to 45 minutes, until tender and browned. Toss the onions once during cooking. Remove from the oven, and drizzle with the reserved dressing. Sprinkle with parsley, season to taste and serve warm or at room temperature.

24 responses to “BB: Herb Roasted Onions? Yup!

  1. Great choice – thanks for giving us a new recipe I will definitely return to. 🙂

  2. Excellent recipe pick! I really liked this one. Your onions look great too.

  3. I’ve got to tell you, Kelly, when I first saw “Roasted Onions” I said to myself “huh?” and then when I kept reading and saw that you picked it and I just chuckled and said, “of course!” And I mean that in a 100% affectionate way! These were REALLY great — they totally work as a side dish, but I thnk I’ll make them a lot just to use in or on other things. Great pick!

  4. Great pick! I loved these and will use them in lots of different ways!

  5. You made a great choice.

    Thanks.

  6. Thanks for picking a great recipe. My hubby wouldn’t eat them so I had the whole bowl to myself!

  7. Wonderful, fabulous pick Kelly! I am so appreciating an easy recipe that’s delicious as well 🙂

  8. that’s what is so fun about these groups – that you can cook something you normally would not think about and it turn out great. Your photos are beautiful – the color of the onions. Yum.

  9. I LOVED the recipe! Sorry your hubs didn’t dig it though. I love your criteria too… thanks for thinking of us and our pocketbooks. Really great choice!

    ~Cat

  10. Wow- your criteria for selecting a recipe is so much more effective than mine. I just randomly flip through pages until I see something I like and say ok, that’s it.

    These were a fabulous choice, and putting them into a veggie wrap makes perfect sense. In fact, I think that’s what I’ll make for Sabrina’s lunch tomorrow!

  11. I loved this dish! Thanks so much for choosing it. 🙂

  12. This was a great recipe! Thanks so much for picking it!! I bet it was great in that veggie wrap…I put mine in with scrambled eggs on toast. Next time I make them I will make extra b/c the leftovers are the best!

  13. I like your menu recommendations! Sounds like the perfect side dish to the marinated portobellos and couscous. Thanks for a great pick! I was crying bucketloads too. My red onions were horribly potent!

  14. Kelly, thanks for the fun Barefoot Bloggers pick! Something I would have missed had it not been for you! I hope my post on them doens’t sound too negative, I was trying to get across the point that I usually don’t like onions but these ended up tasting great, so thanks for making me give onions another chance. Your portobellos and couscous sound like the perfect pairing with the onions 🙂

  15. Thanks for a great pick. I never would have tried this one on my own. So simple and delicious. I think the dressing would be great on other roasted vegetables too.

  16. Thanks for this pick! I loved the ease of the dish and how fantastic it tasted and that it didn’t require a lot of ingredients. 🙂

  17. Love, love, love these. Thanks so much for picking an easy recipe that I can make in the future with just a blink of the eye.

  18. Excellent choice. These were simple and delicious. It had never occurred to me to make onions as a stand-alone side dish either. I’m glad I tried them.

  19. I loved this recipe! Thanks for the great choice!

  20. I love roasted onions, so thanks for the great choice. They just get so nice and sweet after 30 minutes in the oven, and the vinaigrette adds a delicious touch.

  21. Great pictures! I loved the recipe. Thanks for picking it.

  22. These were great! Thanks for chosing an easy recipe I could throw together in minutes!

  23. They look and sound very, very good.

  24. I agree with you… I LOVE onions and enjoyed making this recipe. Good pick!

Leave a Reply

