Barefoot Bloggers: Mexican Not-Chicken Soup

dscn1531

For our second Barefoot Bloggers recipe in November, Judy of Judy’s Gross Eats chose Mexican Chicken Soup.  Great choice!  We had it for dinner on Sunday night served with avocado slices and quesadillas.**  We really liked it.  It is very simple but very tasty.  I will definitely make it again.

I did make a couple of substitutions.  I used diced instead of whole tomatoes and I didn’t puree them.  I also skipped the chicken (natch) and added white beans instead.  Why white beans, you ask?  Because white beans were first connected to the tortilla back in the days of the…blah…blah…I made a giant pot of them over the weekend and am looking for any and every use for them.  The kids better examine those PB&Js closely.  You never know where an errant white bean will show up.

Thanks again, !!  I will definitely make this again.

**For those of you who also follow Tuesdays with Dorie, you have been privy to my dilemma over son #2’s eating habits.  Well, I tried to take a cue from Jessica Seinfeld and add a little carrot puree to his quesadilla.  He immediately spotted (?)/tasted(?) the offending ingredient and refused to eat anymore until he was given a “regular” quesadilla.  His dad’s assurances that it was just “special cheese” fell on deaf ears.  Jessica Seinfeld – 0; Colin – 2 (he also picked the chips out of the chick pea chocolate chip cookies, leaving the dough).

5 responses to “Barefoot Bloggers: Mexican Not-Chicken Soup

  1. We loved this soup too! And as someone who has been through the whole picky kid thing not long ago, my only suggestion is persistence – just keep serving it up to them (and sometimes they will try something at someone else’s house that they wouldn’t have at home, so enlist your friends…)

  2. I wouldn’t trust Jessica Seinfeld with anything – she’s got people paid to feed her kids –

    I didn’t get a chance to make the soup, but so far I’ve heard rave reviews so I might just have to try it.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. The soup was great. I like the idea of beans–I kept the chicken and added hominy and liked the texture–so beans would be similar I think. Great job!

  4. Colin has some keen senses, huh? The soup sounds great.

  5. Your soup looks delicious! Great job!

Leave a Reply

