TWD: Brownie pretender

easter_weekend_016

Easter weekend on the Plaza in KC…

Where is the torte?  Well, I made it and we’ll get to it in a minute.  Frankly, I am just annoyed with and embarrassed by the photos of the dang thing.  Every time I think I am going to purchase a new camera some sizable, but not catastrophic, bill comes my way.  Dental work.  Car repairs.  School registration.  More dental work.  The list goes on and on.  If we were the type to actually create a household budget, we would definitely have to include a line item for “Annoying and unexpected sh**.”  I suppose that is life but it doesn’t help me when I am forced to make something at night and suffer the photographic consequences.

Yes, I made this last Thursday night to take to work on Friday.  Along with Easter, we celebrated my dad’s birthday on Sunday.  Cake is a requirement.  Fancy torte does not equal cake in the minds of a 7 and 4 yr old.  Birthdays have layers and frosting and candles.  Period.

So, I braved on with my World Market amaretti (oh how I heart World Market).  My $2.49 purchase somehow increased exponentially with some Mango salad dressing on sale and other “essential items” (no wonder I don’t have a new camera).

photo-930

The best thing about this torte?  I made it with Colin, who was banished to the kitchen by his father and brother after jumping on and over them on the couch one too many times.   He loved whirring the food processor.  Clearly, I did not even attempt to time the preparation of the 15 minute torte.  I think we exceeded the time limit on retrieving stray bits of egg shell alone.  Everything did end up coming together smoothly.  But, somehow I mucked up the sauce and it was more than a little grainy.

Overall, this looked like a brownie but was not satisfying to me in the fudgy chocolatey heavenly brownie way.  Nobody else at home really loved it either.  I think the texture of the amaretti and the almonds threw everyone off, including me.  Apparently, I have texture issues.  I have never thought of myself as someone with “issues” but here we are.  It didn’t exactly fly off the table at work either.  I was about to declare it a total lost cause when my colleague emailed to tell me how much she liked it.  No texture issues for her.

photo-927

Brownie?  Not so fast my friend…

The full recipe is on Holly at Phemomenon’s site.  Other tortes at TWD.  She has lots of other great stuff too.  Next week:  Chocolate Bread Pudding.  this looks goooood.

13 responses to “TWD: Brownie pretender

  1. This one wasn’t my favorite either. Give me a brownie over this torte any day 🙂

  2. Oh how I can relate to the “unexpected s#*t line item. My budget seems to be driven by it. The torte wasn’t exactly what I expected either .. unfortunately for my waistline, I liked it a lot. I have a feeling my time with TWD would be a little easier if I liked the results less! *grin*

  3. I have been exonerated! I am so relived to have a nut-avoiding comrade. So it wasn’t just us, thank goodness.

    Next week is better, that’s for sure!

  4. bummer that no one loved it. Maybe next week will be better. 🙂

  5. YUP…totally can related to the “unexpected shit” budget line! I think half of my household budget consists of that. Just when you think you’re being totally fiscally responsible and staying within your budget…something has to break and be replaced…argh!

    Sorry to hear that this torte wasn’t a winner for you.

  6. Loved this post! It really is the best thing to cook with one child; who cares about a few minutes lost or a few eggshells either for that matter. I so relate to the Cost Plus shopping spree (impulse buy, anyone? At least everything’s pretty cheap. And finally, thank goodness for your work colleague. Next time I make this I’m using the finely ground almond meal from Trader Joes – there will far fewer texture issues (wasn’t a huge problem for me, but I wouldn’t want to serve it to anyone with nut chunk issues.)
    Nancy

  7. Oh, good. You’ve made me feel better about skipping it! I love that your litlte one was banished to the kitchen for his couch jumpng offenses. Sounds like mine, for sure! Your boys look so happy!

  8. I walked out of World Market with a sack of goodies too! Too bad this wasn’t a hit. I liked it, but I guess the texture isn’t what you might be expecting when you bite into it.

  9. I had issues with this too. Definitely texture issues. I kept wanting/expecting it to be smooth, and was surprised/disappointed with each bite that wasn’t. Interestingly, I threw it in the freezer and, on the recommendation of another blogger, ate a piece straight from the freezer. SO much better that way! It’s like the texture issues totally disappeared when it was frozen.

    Oh, and I so know what you mean about those unexpected expenses. Our upstairs a/c is about to conk out – goodbye, fun and frivolous purchases I had planned.

    Your boys look adorable with those bunnies!

  10. It certainly looks very lovely…all that chocolately goodness (for those who like chocolate) oozing over the edge and threatening to escape the plate and all…am sure my guys would be all over that one! Too cute about Colin being banished to the kitchen…LOL. I bet he thought he had the better end of the deal in that one! How fun! Great job! And, some things are just more important than cameras…your photos look fine to me!

  11. Sorry the texture and taste weren’t quite right for you. Next week’s bread pudding does look amazing!

  12. Don’t be ashamed of the photos! Looks good to me:)

  13. I liked this cake, but I would have to agree that it doesn’t hold a candle to a well-made brownie. Maybe next week’s recipe will do it for you!

Leave a Reply

