TWD: Overextended Bread Pudding

photo-943

I am not going to complain and whine ‘cuz we are all busy and sometimes everyone is stretched thin.  This last week I was almost sprouting holes.  Unfortunately, it was also the week for Four Star Bread Pudding.  This was on my short list to pick when it was my turn.  That picture has been whispering sweet nothings in my ear for months.

Obviously, I should have made this in advance.  We have been getting the months worth of recipes for quite awhile now.  BUT…Thanks to my own self-induced ridiculousness I had to wait until after Easter.  That left me all of one whole week.  One busy week.

My original plan was to try to squeeze it in Sunday night after arriving home from a weekend trip to Nebraska (where both of my sons were seen sporting corn cob hats – put that on the list of things I never thought I’d see).  Frankly, I was too tired and behind on everything that needed to get done by Monday but was neglected while we were gone.  Then the disposal clogged leaving an attractive pool of food sludge in the sink.  The joys of home ownership…

Cut to Monday.  Homemade brioche?  A distant and long abandoned idea.  Grocery store “twisted egg loaf” it is.  photo-9411

To be able to eat this before midnight, I had to try to make it while making dinner, while getting kitchen back in order and while catching up with kids and husband.  Chopped chocolate?  Extra step.  Out.  Half bag of milk chocolate chips in cabinet.  In.  (This was a great plan until I realized that I had halved everything in the recipe BUT the chocolate.  I desperately tried to dig out some half melted chips.  The sink was sludge free for all of 5 minutes).   Raisins – not opened and carmelized onions quickly turning to charred onions.  Dried cranberries – waiting and ready.

The upside to rushing?  My bread pudding didn’t look like mud or other unmentionables.  The milk chocolate was too light.  A freak advantage that I wouldn’t have been smart enough to plan in advance.  The cranberries cut the sweetness of the milk chocolate – another unplanned success.  Mine wasn’t soupy at all.  I have no clue how that happened.

In sum, I loved it.  My husband and I plowed through a good portion of it just standing in the kitchen.  I can’t wait to try the dark chocolate version.  TWD has opened my eyes to the wonders of bittersweet chocolate.  But, I am making it in ramekins.  Portion control is a very good thing.

second helping…

photo-944

Next week:  chocolate tart.  (note to self: must go to gym a lot this week).   the full recipe for this week is at Lauren’s blog Upper East Side Chronicle.

18 responses to “TWD: Overextended Bread Pudding

  1. I loved this one too! I’m glad you found a way to make it despite being crazy busy. This wasn’t one I’d want to have missed out on 🙂

  2. Looks delicious and I love the idea of thinking of you and the husband standing in the kitchen, forks in hand, digging into that dessert! Such fun. It looks wonderful!

  3. My heart started racing just reading about your dinner hour. I felt like I was reading about my life. Except you managed to keep it all straight – didn’t add cumin to the bread pudding, for example – YOU are the rock star. You so deserved to love this after all that chaos, and I am really glad you did. It looks (and sounds) great!

  4. Holy cow, I needed to take a deep breath reading about your week. Whew!

    Glad you loved this – and I hope you get time to make it again.

  5. Great story, and I love that you made it.

  6. Glad there were some unplanned advantages! 🙂 Looks like it turned out great!

  7. Haha – I definitely have days in the kitchen like that. Glad it turned out for you! 🙂

  8. I’m glad you liked it. I hope this week is less busy for you.

  9. We loved it here too…I made a little 5 star changes. I make bread pudding alot and choose not to temper the milk and eggs first. Also only use 2 percent milk. Check it out when you can!

  10. Oh the joys of gettin’ everything done we need to, huh! Way to go! I would have just left the extra chocolate in, I did half batch and still put in 5.5 oz. of chocolate, although maybe you’re right about the milk chocolate being extra sweet. Glad you LOVED it! I have two and a half ramekins sitting in the fridge that no one will eat (I’m trying not to!)

  11. Well done. When I try to bake and cook dinner at the same time it is generally a disaster. The caramelized onions probably would have ended up in the bread pudding rather than the chocolate chips. So glad it was worth the effort.

  12. A well-told story! We’re also big fans of eating the good stuff, standing up in the kitchen. Glad you enjoyed.

  13. I’m so glad this one worked out for you, and all because you didn’t have time for advanced planning! Sometimes the best things happen off the cuff! Mine didn’t turn out soupy either (and I have no idea how that happened) and I loved it too!I guess that was the trick!

  14. Sounds like a happy home kitchen to me. Pudding looks just right.

  15. Well, now…see? It all worked out in the end, didn’t it? Glad you liked it and I hope this week and future ones are MUCH kinder to you!

  16. I love a happy ending! Sounds like you had some good kitchen karma going on! Your variations sound delicious.

  17. Great job, soldiering on despite so many obstacles. And can you imagine how much you will adore this pudding when you make it the way you want to?! I’m so glad it worked for you.
    Nancy

  18. I really enjoyed this, especially warmed up with chocolate syrup or cream anglaise!

Leave a Reply

