TWD: Not-so-apple Parisian Tart

P6060011

Let’s get one thing straight.  I love apples.  Truly.  If an apple a day keeps the doctor away, I figure I’m good til about 138.  But, and there is always one isn’t there, it’s June.  I have been surviving on apples, pears and the occasional orange for months upon months now.  To say I am ready to move on would be an understatement.  The second other fruits starting appearing regularly in the grocery, I start buying them (even though I know their arrival is always a bit premature).  Come late August I will be salivating over Pink Ladys, Jonagolds and the sheer beauty of a McIntosh.  But that is August (and through what always seems like the never ending midwestern hell some people politely refer to as winter).

P6060003

Cherry, nectarine, mango, combo

So, with Dorie’s stated approval, I ventured forth in other directions.  I had three tarts to make and a mango (sigh), cherries (double sigh) and a nectarine ready to go.  It being summer (hooray! it just can’t be said enough), I had a date with the pool and not homemade puff pastry.  Pepperidge Farm at the ready.

This is the kind of dessert that seems deceptively difficult if you don’t spend much time in the kitchen.  It is a lot of bang for your buck without a lot of effort on your part.  I am not sure this is something I would make a special trip to the store to get puff pastry for, but it is definitely something I would make again if there are leftovers in the freezer (as there are right now).  You will have to check out those who persevered through the homemade puff pastry to see if their efforts were rewarded.

I cut all the variations (cherry, mango, nectarine and cherry-mango) into little slices and we all agreed the cherry was the best.  Pitting the cherries increased the effort required but, since a miniscule amount fit on each tart, don’t let it scare you off.

The full recipe is on Jessica’s blog My Baking Heart. Next week:  honey peach ice cream.  Now, we are really talking summer.

19 responses to “TWD: Not-so-apple Parisian Tart

  1. I can almost taste those cherries. Your tartlets look delicious!

  2. mmm – I have a fridge full of cherries right now. Too bad I didn’t think to stop eating them and put them on a pastry shell!

  3. Just wonderful.

    I wish I had sprinkled on a bit of nuts.

  4. Thanks for baking with me this week – love the cherry tartlet! 🙂

  5. All of these look like fun choices! 🙂 I am with you on wanting different fruit for the summer!

  6. Those look delicious.

    I thought about making my own pastry, but like you said – it’s summer.

  7. Oh I wanted to try nectarine but the one we had looked a little worse for the ware so I nixed the idea.
    Your turned out beautiful.

  8. These sound so great with cherries. I, too, am impressed by these overachievers who made their own puff pastry. Maybe one day, but for now I’m happy to have a ready supply in the freezer.

  9. I love cherries! Your tarts look delicious!

  10. Lovely pastries! I also think the cherry ones are the best.

  11. I was trying to get over here first this week before you got to mine and I just missed it! Got distracted this afternoon by kidlets. Your tarts are very pretty and look o-so-delicious! I need to try these combinations very soon, don’t you think? We stuck with apple and they were gone in less than five minutes. I kid you not. Requests for another round tonight…might have to humor them in a bit.

  12. I bet the cherry one was great, but the other two are tempting me as well. Of course, I loved the apple ones I made too. I just love most all fruits! I would love to try your cherry ones. . .

    Come on over and bring them along! Oh drat, you don’t know where I live do you? 🙂

  13. I have some cherries in the fridge and some left over pastry shells ready to be used up. Sounds like a recipe for success, for sure! Great job!

  14. I love your summery variations. BTW, mangos are 10 for $10 at Publix this week – I thought of you. I bought four; maybe I’ll make a mango tartlet with what’s left of my solid gold frozen puff pastry.

    Your tarts look great!

  15. Those look great. I went with apple, but definitely want to try this again with summer fruits.

  16. I love all of your variations, particularly the mango! Next time I’m at the store I’m definitely grabbing mangoes to make this again 🙂

  17. cherry was definitely my favorite! I must try the cherry-mango combo next time. beautiful tartlets – perfect for summer!

  18. Those are great variations on the Parisian Tartlet! I like the different colors and the cherry tartlet really stands out!

  19. I’m so glad you made the cherry and loved it! I came so close to doing cherry but chickened out at the last minute. They all look fabulous!

Leave a Reply

