TWD: honey peach ice cream

P6130014

OK.

  1. My original post was going to be something along the lines of a celebration of summer.  I was making the ice cream on Saturday and it was supposed to be low 80s and sunny.  Perfect summer day.  I had visions of peach ice cream after the pool.   Of course, it was mid 70s and cloudy…great for gardening, watching a movie, hiking, plenty of things really…none of which remotely scream peach ice cream.
  2. Take 2.  The next post was going to somehow involve ice cream preferences (big hunks, no hunks, cone, cup, etc – you get the idea).   For the record, I pureed all my peaches.  Then I got sick Saturday night after eating a giant peach ice cream sandwich.  I hope – really hope – the two were not related.  But, tolerance for any long post about ice cream was gone.  GONE.
  3. So, by strange circumstance, I was the only one who happened to eat the ice cream on Saturday.  I have banned it from anyone else until I take another test (probably tonight).  Wish me luck.  Cuz the peach ice cream stuffed between two peanut butter oatmeal cookies was good.   So good I am willing to test it again after Saturday night’s fiasco.

P6130015

You wouldn’t hurt me, would you?

Thanks to Tommi of Brown Interior for forcing us to dust off the ice cream maker and embrace summer.  The recipe is at Brown Interior.

Next week:  Coconut Roasted Pineapple Dacquoise.  I am trying wrap my brain around how I am going to make this the same week as father’s day.  This isn’t what either of the dads in my life would order.  And, of course, I haven’t baked ahead.  Stay tuned.

9 responses to “TWD: honey peach ice cream

  1. Ba ha ha ha ha – I really hope it wasn’t the ice cream sandwich that made you sick. How could something so sweet be evil?

  2. Oh man, that ice cream sandwich looks amazing. I sure hope it wasn’t what made you sick!

  3. Wow, your ice cream experience brings back memories. Years ago, when I was a kid my family got an old hand-crank ice cream machine for christmas and proceeded to make our first ever batch of homemade vanilla ice cream. In less than a day we all came down with the flu and never used the maker again!

    As I sit here from Florida where the temps are in the high 90s, your ice cream sandwich looks so deliciously satisfying.

  4. Peanut-butter oatmeal cookie ice cream sandwich sounds amazing. I hope you feel better soon!

  5. Looks great sandwiched between those cookies. And, I think you have stumbled upon a great excuse to make sure something is left for the next day…making sure it isn’t poisonous sounds like a great excuse! LOL. Just kidding, sorry you were ill. I hope it is okay as I can imagine everyone wanting to try one. I’m trying to wrap my mind around that dacquoise also…hmmm….

  6. UUUUMMMM!!!! Peach ice cream sandwich. I must make cookies.

    I hope it wasn’t the ice cream. Feel better!!

  7. I love the idea of the peanut butter cookies. I think I’ll try it with almond butter cookies, since it was so good with toasted almonds.

  8. Your ice cream sandwiches look terrific! I wish I’d made cookies to go with my ice cream.

    Hope you’re feeling better!

  9. Those ice cream sandwiches look tasty! I hope they didn’t make you sick! Howcould something so good be so bad? 😉

Leave a Reply

