TWD: Blanc Manger? No way, Jose.

P7190003

Well, I don’t think anyone would mistake these brownies for blanc manger.  There isn’t any blanc manger from me this week nor will there be any coming soon.  One of the (critical it would seem) ingredients is gelatin.  As a vegetarian, I don’t generally cook with gelatin.  I say generally because I did make an exception for the Tuesdays with Dorie Marshmallow week.  It was my very first week with the group and I didn’t want to punk out.  As crunchy marshmallows have yet to take the country by storm, they were a total and unmitigated disaster.  I am pretty sure it was some kind of karmic comeuppance for my use of gelatin as a card carrying vegetarian (much easier to blame the elusive fates than my own substandard skills).  So, I won’t be tempting (angering??) those fates again.

These brownies, in fact, weren’t even my original plan for this slacker post.  But, as my family and I discovered, cupcakes really do need that sugar listed in the recipe.  Oops.  Can you compost rainbow cupcakes?  I should look into that whole composting business.

After almost an entire weekend with no (edible) baked goods from me, Will inquired late Sunday whether I would be making any dessert.  I was already getting dinner started and decided to throw together some quick brownies from the Moosewood Restaurant Book of Desserts.  Despite the short list of ingredients and relative ease, this was my first time making these.  They were easy and good but I prefer the French brownies and Chipster brownies from Baking from my Home to Yours.   Sometimes, however, you need a quick recipe and chances are you have all of these ingredients on hand.  They would fit nicely into a brownie hot fudge sundae.

I would recommend the six minute chocolate cake from the book.  It is a staple in our house.

Next week:  Vanilla ice cream.  I have made this one more than once.  Yum.

Moosewood Fudge Brownies

  1. 1/2 c. butter
  2. 3 oz. unsweetened chocolate
  3. 1 c. lightly packed brown sugar
  4. 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  5. 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  6. 1/2 c. unbleached white flour (i used a mix of AP and WW Pastry Flour)

Preheat the oven to 350.  Melt the butter and chocolate in a saucepan over low heat.  Remove from heat and beat in the brown sugar and vanilla.  Add the eggs and mix well.  Stir in the flour and mix until the batter is smooth.  Pour the batter into an 8 or 9in. square pan.  Bake for 20 minutes until the sides begin to pull away from the pan.

10 responses to “TWD: Blanc Manger? No way, Jose.

  1. Way to make the brownies “healthy” with the whole wheat pastry flour! hehe
    They look good to me.

  2. Yep, pretty hard to make blanc-manger without gelatin! But pretty fun to get to see a different recipe posted here as looking at 100 blanc mangers can be a bit tiresome non-stop and all. Not that I have visited 100 yet, but you know what I mean. These look like a nice summer treat. I know my sons would love to see these appear anytime. Hope your summer is going great. Enjoy…little boys grow up way too fast!

  3. I noticed that someone had made a brownie layer for the bottom of their blanc manger. That may be the ultimate combination.
    Your brownies look great and I could use one right about now.
    Well done!

  4. Your family probably appreciated the brownies more than they would have appreciated the blanc-manger!

  5. I have the Moosewood cookbook, but haven’t tried the 6 min. choc cake. Good to know you like it.

  6. 6 minute cake? Seriously? I’ll have to look up that book.

    Brownies were better than the muffins I made –

  7. These look delicious (and easy!)

  8. Those brownies look yummy.

  9. I’m a vegetarian, too, but I used agar agar in place of the gelatin in the blanc manger, and it turned out really well! I have yet to conquer a vegetarian marshmallow, but I’m working on it… Your brownies look great!

  10. Brownie, blanc manger…what’s the diff? They both start with “B”! Brownies are pretty much my go-to comfort dessert, so I wholeheartedly approve of this substitution. 🙂

Leave a Reply

