Oatmeal Snack Cake

P7230001

Why must the container for Quick Cooking oats look just like the one for Old Fashioned?  Can’t we get some kind of color coding?  When I am at the store I am either in a hurry because I have promised my family I am “only picking up a few things” or I have one or two young boys with me which is the very definition of distraction.  Trips to the grocery store sometimes cause me to regret that the older one now reads.  “Mom, this bowl-o-sugar cereal says it has vitamins.  Can we get it?  These fruit roll-ups are a foot long and it says they are made with fruit.  Can we get it?”  and on and on…

So, you can see why I might get discombobulated and grab the Quick Cooking oats.  And let’s face it, Oliver Twist would never have gotten thrown out of the workhouse if he had been served quick cooking oats.  No asking for seconds of those.   Fortunately, I have discovered that these do have other uses.  They are, apparently, well-suited for certain baked goods because of the amount of liquid they absorb.

I was watching America’s Test Kitchen recently and they made a very simple snack cake with, you guessed it, Quick Cooking Oats.  The recipe is from memory and is not entirely true to the original.  I decided to serve it for breakfast so I skipped the broiled coconut/walnut icing.  Didn’t sound good to us anyway.  It was very moist (a little fragile) and just right for breakfast.

Oatmeal Snack Cake

  • 1 c. Quick cooking oats
  • 3/4c. room temperature water
  • ¾ c. whole wheat pastry flour
  • ½ tsp. baking soda
  • ½ tsp. baking powder
  • ¼ tsp. salt
  • ½ tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp. ground ginger
  • ¼ tsp. ground nutmeg
  • 4 oz. butter
  • ½ c. sugar
  • ½ c. brown sugar
  • 1 egg

Preheat the oven to 350 and line an 8 inch square pan with foil.  Spray with cooking spray.   In a small bowl, mix the oatmeal and water together.  Set aside.  Whisk the dry ingredients together and set aside.  In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugars together until they look like wet sand.  Add the egg and mix to incorporate.  On low speed, add the dry ingredients in two batches.  Stir in the oats.  Pour into the prepared pan and bake for about 30 minutes.

3 responses to “Oatmeal Snack Cake

  1. Ahh, but did the boys eat it? 🙂

    Seriously, I do the same thing – but instead of asking to buy everything, Alexander just complains through every.single.aisle.

    Every single one.

  2. It sounds delicious. I hate it when I accidently buy the wrong thing.

  3. Heck, I’m distracted in the grocery store and I don’t even have kids! Good for you for finding something you can make with the imposter oats.

Leave a Reply

