Chocolate Berry Bites

P7120005

I have been making a variation of these muffins for years and years but, up until now, they have never been chocolatized.  That changed last weekend when I had some berries about to take a turn for the worse and a craving for something chocolate but not super decadent.  Without further ado, I introduce you to Chocolate Berry Bites.  We all know muffins are usually just dessert masquerading as breakfast food but a mini-muffin?  Not quite so guilt inducing, right?

These are adapted from Martha Stewart’s Fresh Berry Muffins.  The recipe is pretty old (1995??).  I admit I only did a very quick search but I didn’t see the exact recipe on her website.  My variation is below.  I made both blueberry and cherry and preferred the cherry.  I usually use a combination of blueberries and raspberries when I make the full size and I think raspberries would work equally well in these.  If you despise filling mini-muffin cups as much as I do just remind yourself that it is easier than working off the calories of a full muffin.  Enjoy!

P7120014

Chocolate Berry Bites

Adapted from Martha Stewart’s Fresh Berry Muffins

  1. 12/3 c. AP flour
  2. 1/3 c. cocoa powder
  3. 2 tsp. baking powder
  4. 1/4 tsp. salt
  5. 1 stick of butter
  6. 2 eggs
  7. 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  8. ½ c. milk
  9. 24 pitted cherries or 2 c. fresh berries

Preheat oven to 350.  Grease mini muffin tin or line with paper liners.  Sift dry ingredients into medium bowl.  In a large bowl, beat the sugar and butter until light and fluffy.  Add the eggs and vanilla but don’t overmix.  Add the flour and milk alternately, starting with 1/3 of the flour, then ½ the milk, ending with the flour.  For berries, fold them into the batter.  If using cherries, fill the muffin cups 2/3 to ¾ full and add one cherry to each cup.  Starting checking for doneness around 12 minutes.  Enjoy!

One response to “Chocolate Berry Bites

  1. Hmmm – must be a chocolate kind of morning. I posted a chocolate zucchini bread that assuages that whole chocolate-for-breakfast thing.

    These look terrific ~

Leave a Reply

