TWD: It’s a Crisp!

PB090001

I COMPLETELY missed last week – no recipe, no comments, no browsing, no nothing.  Just one of those weeks.  I still hope to get to the Chestnut Cake…but I didn’t even get this one done until Monday night (aaahhh…night photography…jealous?).

I subbed in a little almond for the coconut and cut down on the sugar in the filling.  Truthfully, as I was making this, one thought kept occurring to me.  What can you really say about a crisp?  Not much new, I think.  So, I will just say that this was supremely satisfying and leave it at that.

Next week:  Sugar-Topped Molasses Spice Cookies.  I am looking forward to these.  The recipe for this week is at The Repressed Pastry Chef  by Em.

16 responses to “TWD: It’s a Crisp!

  1. I made this for this week as well.

    I put caramel and walnuts in for the cranberries and raisins.

  2. I’m making this next week, hope it’s good! I made the cookies this week and they were wonderful 🙂

  3. It looks so good and Im glad you were able to bake with us! Im making this soon, it looks so good!

  4. It looks delicious. I’m going to make it on Thursday to take to a dinner party. I have to substitute something for the oats though. Any thoughts?

  5. Yeah, you were conspicuous in your absence – I hope everything’s ok and it’s just the school/work/time crunch starts right about this time of year.

  6. It looks great! And love how you sub’d the almond… there’s so many subs that would be great with this recipe! Glad you enjoyed this week’s recipe – it’s definitely a keeper!

  7. Almonds?! I think I may have to try that. I am making this Thanksgiving week. Yours (love your night photography) looks great.

  8. It was a good crisp recipe, and even better with ice cream! I feel your pain with the night photography! Damn time change…

  9. You can’t go too wrong with a crisp, but this one with the cranberries was a fun change!

  10. Looks good! I’m making this recipe next.

  11. Night photography is a challenge to say the least. I just bought some Lowell lights since I work all day. Hope they work. Your crisp looks good anyway.

  12. Almonds sound like a great sub. Your crisp looks yummy!

  13. Sounds like it was a hit. Looks delicious.

    Mine are made, frozen. for supper tonite. Cannot wait.

  14. I love the idea of almonds in there! I have made this three times so far. Once for TWD. Twice b/c I forgot to take photos. Thrice b/c the guys absolutely love it and are eating it like crazy. I am, however, only making half batches at a time so it is nice and fresh for them. It’s a hit…going to sneak some almonds in next time! Yours looks absolutely delicious and wonderful.

  15. Life gets so crazy, ‘eh! Sigh.
    Way to get the crisp done. I’m excited to make this one, although, I’m sure I’ll have some twists in mine! 😉

  16. I completely missed the last month (no baking/posting/commenting/browsing) so I can relate to all that. Glad you’re back and glad I’m back, because I sure enjoy reading your blog. Yeah, you’re right – there’s not a whole lot to say about a crisp, but in a good way. Yours looks great, even at night.

Leave a Reply

