TWD: Chocolate Oatmeal Almost (Nirvana) Candy Bars

20 months of regular baking.  Over 70 recipes tested.  Countless pounds of butter, cups of sugar, vats of flour and we come to this.

THIS.  The somewhat humble Chocolate Oatmeal Almost Candy Bar.

Let me tell you a little story.  For four years my office was next to a little lunch place in Downtown Kansas City.  This little place served a heavenly confection called the Chocolate Oat Caramel Bar.  They were so good but so rich.  My co-worker and I split one after lunch at least two days a week.  Then my office moved and I had to learn to live with (sub par) lunch hour that didn’t include my beloved bar.  BUT as luck would have it, one year later my husband took a job in the building next door to my old building.  One day I found an excuse to visit him but, let’s be honest, I was after that bar.

HORROR.  Apparently, the woman who made them had the nerve to quit and…take the recipe with her.  People, I searched.  I googled.  I perused countless blogs.  Every chocolate caramel bar out there looked nothing like that bar.

Until.  Until this week.  Now, this is not an exact replica.  But it is close.  So close I could probably get 99.999% of the way there on my own.  I started by splitting the batch and making half without peanuts and raisins.  I preferred that one.  Next time, I will make the oatmeal part thinner and omit the peanuts from that part.  Caramel was in the name of the other bar but it wasn’t a discernible layer.  Probably mixed into the chocolate.  I just may have to quit TWD to perfect this….

NIRVANA.

Oh, the family loved it as well.  Will said it was the best bar ever and Jamie gave an intentionally over the top response after I outed him for his “fine” responses.

Next week:  something about bananas…assuming I able to move forward with other recipes.   HUGE thanks to Lillian of Confectiona’s Realm for choosing this.  The full recipe is there.

19 responses to “TWD: Chocolate Oatmeal Almost (Nirvana) Candy Bars

  1. I DID put caramel in mine! Caramel and pecans. And they’re really good. The boys (all 5) would have hated raisins. These are dangerously good to me. I’ve been eating a healthy raw date and nuts cookie while I watch them scarf these down. 😉
    NIRVANA, yep. Glad you’ve found it.

  2. I think I have the recipe you might be searching for – an oatmeal base, with dulce de leche and chocolate chips for that caramel/chocolate no nut combo. I’ll look for it today.

  3. I left out the raisins too, but put peanut butter chips in the topping.

  4. Ooooohhhh please tell me when you perfect it!!!

  5. This recipe looks simply luscious. I think I will make it on my web-TV Show COCODELIRIOUS.COM !!
    Thanks for sharing. If you have any suggestions/tips on the best way to present the recipe, please let me know. Will probably produce segment week of Feb 1.

  6. Great story! These remind me of the oat fudge bars I get at Starbucks, so I plan on doing a bit of tweaking too (less crunchy topping, maybe cream instead of condensed milk). Fun!

  7. Carmamel sounds so good in this! Glad you found something close to your beloved bars! 🙂

  8. They are pretty amazing, aren’t they? I’d love to hear about your perfected version, though. Thanks for baking with me this week!

  9. I love your story..Im so glad you were able to find something so close to the recipe the lady took off with her! Your bars are simply perfect. I loved this recipe so much I seriously want to make them right now !

  10. Your bars look fabulous! So glad you finally found your Nirvana! 🙂

  11. What a great story about that bar! I am happy you found something you can adapt and be happy with…let me tell you, the guys here are big fans as well. Yours look wonderful. A match made in heaven.

  12. How exciting to discover a recipe that can fill your chocolate oat caramel bar void. I had a similar experience with the volcano cookies a few weeks back (still haven’t posted it), but that recipe unlocked the formula for a favorite corn flake cookie I remember making as a kid. I was so excited to finally be able to figure out how to re-create that cookie. Once you perfect the recipe you should start selling them to the lunch spot because I bet loads of people are craving them!

  13. I love when you find a lost recipe! We actually liked the raisins at my house.

  14. I’m so happy for you and your bar! These were so good but I will drop the raisins next time since I felt they made them too sweet (and I didn’t think there was such a thing).

    I love your new look! I’m so behind you probably did it weeks ago, but I love it.

  15. Great story. I need to try these with caramel.
    Mimi

  16. Pingback: Star Wars Treats: Bossk Brownies and Yoda Soda « Baking with the Boys

  17. UUUMMMM!!!! Caramel. Great Idea.

  18. Yay! Finding a long-lost recipe for a favorite food is just about the best thing ever. I hope you’re able to figure it out and duplicate those bars, because they sound AWESOME.

  19. Pingback: TWD: Cocoa-Nana Cake « Baking with the Boys

Leave a Reply

