TWD: Cocoa-Nana Cake

After last week’s hullabaloo over the Chocolate Oatmeal Almost Candy Bars, I am finding myself with a little writer’s block this week.  It isn’t that I am not enthused by the idea of chocolate and banana together.  One of my favorite on-the-fly desserts is to melt a tablespoon or so of chocolate chips which I then lovingly dip my banana into.  It’s just that I am crashing from my high.

So, I made this.  And I included the banana.  I only made 1/3 of the recipe (see last week’s overindulgence; see also Wii Fit which says, “Oh!” every time I step on the balance board.  I curse you, Nintendo).  Will ate most of it.  He gave it a thumbs up.  I do, too.  Frankly, as opposed to many on the P&Q, I could taste the banana.  And that was fine with me.

Next week: more chocolate!

14 responses to “TWD: Cocoa-Nana Cake

  1. Well said. After last week’s uproar, let’s just eat the chocolate bread and move on!

  2. The Wii has an uncanny ability to make one feel horrible about themselves! I think that is why most of this recipe went into the freezer!

  3. I wasn’t totally bowled over by this one (I made muffins). I LOOVVEE me some banana anything, but this just didn’t have enough banana flavor. I’d rather have banana bread with a little chocolate in it. Love the cake idea though. All those ingredients put into one little loaf pan just seems like too much to me. Looks like Feb. will be quite the chocolate overload.

  4. Great looking cake. Im glad you enjoyed it!

  5. I would absolutely call this one more of a cake and I could taste the banana, too. I thought it was pretty good. Was thinking of getting that Wii balance board, but now may reconsider if it’s going to groan every time I step on it. 🙂

  6. I thought this was so-so, but I really don’t care for bananas baked in anything. My hubby likes it though. Glad you liked it.

  7. I made these into brownies and I really enjoyed them! I could DEFINITELY taste the banana, though! I’m glad you ended up liking it. CURSE that Wii fit! Now a game system is going to make us feel bad about our weight? That’s what mother’s are for!

  8. The round shape is so pretty! Guys loved it, but then you probably knew they would, right? Yep, next week is more chocolate, and the next, and the next…LOL. Guys there ready for summer yet? I AM READY FOR SUMMER!

  9. Great idea to make it a ‘cake’ rather than a loaf. The loaf was so big. I imagine the cake was much easier to bake.

  10. I loved this bread. I liked the distinct flavor hits. Chocolate first and then the banana just floats in. I added cardamom which gave it a really nice lingering finish. You little round cake is very cute.

  11. The bananas played second fiddle – good but nothing to write home about. Glad you were able to make though – it looks wonderful!

  12. We were so-so on this one. Since I have teenagers it didn’t go to waste, I swear teenage boys will eat anything!
    Mimi

  13. Take the Wii and throw it out the window – that will teach it to give you attitude.

    Glad to hear that Will liked it – I actually really like bananas and chocolate together, but I happen to be the only family member that does.

  14. Love the cake. Chocolate and bananas, mmmm!

Leave a Reply

