TWD: Milk Chocolate (not)Mini-(not)Bundt Cakes

  • When I was a kid I loved milk chocolate (Milky Way!).
  • When I was a pre-teen I loved milk chocolate (Twix!).
  • When I was a college kid I loved milk chocolate (Chocolate Malts at Ben & Jerry’s).
  • When I was a stressed out young lawyer I loved milk chocolate (Chocolate covered caramels!).
  • When I was a married lady I loved milk chocolate (Karamel sutra) .
  • When I was an old married lady with two kids I loved milk chocolate (double dipped malted milk balls).**

I thought we were destined to be BFFs.  Patty (my mom) and I always happily split the Russel Stover’s boxes that always found their way to our house at every holiday.  Don’t be fooled, I would not turn down dark but milk chocolate was my one true love.  And then…and then…

I fell in love with dark chocolate long past the age when I thought I was open to new love.  I don’t know how or why it happened, but sometime in the last couple of years my allegiance switched.  Oh sure, I felt a pang of guilt as my hand passed over the luscious milk chocolate and landed on the oh-so seductive dark side.  But I had moved on.

This week, I was brought back to my milk chocolate roots so to speak and….happily so.  I was pleasantly surprised by this cake.  It was very moist and flavorful.  I decided to go full boar with the milk chocolate and used the milk chocolate sauce from the back of the book.  The sauce was grainy and too thin.  I added more chocolate to little improvement.  I saw later that it was supposed to produce ¾ cup of sauce but you add ¾ cup of milk and 4 oz of chocolate.  Huh? Next time, I would try a lot less milk.

very runny sauce

My Variations:

  • Clearly, I didn’t make mini bundts. I baked this as a loaf for 45 minutes.
  • No swirl of any kind.  I thought about subbing for the nuts but…

Bottom line:  Good moist cake.  The kids loved it.  A repeat.

For the recipe visit: Kristin at I’m Right About Everything

Next week: BROWNIES!

13 responses to “TWD: Milk Chocolate (not)Mini-(not)Bundt Cakes

  1. You and Chocolate! I had a feeling such was the case over there from your posts on chocolate weeks. Loaf pan works well, obviously, and all that drippy chocolate probably sent your heart skipping for joy! Looks great…guys here loved it as well. I got to use my mini-bundt pans which hardly ever see the light of day, so I was thrilled by that. Need to haul those out more often.

  2. Great idea with the loaf – I’ll have to try that next time! 🙂

  3. I’ve always been true to milk chocolate as well. Or so I thought. Ok, I can’t turn down really any kind of chocolate, just give me some already! 😉 I thought this cake was just okay, but I wonder if it would be more moist as a regular cake. Maybe I slightly overbaked my little minis as I thought they were a little dry. That said, the boys ATE these up and loved all the goodies I stuck inside!

  4. Mine was not mini and not bundty either, although it was minier and bundtier than yours. That’s not bragging, just a statement of fact – yours looks better than mine in every respect. I think that TWD slowly draws us to the darker end of the chocolate spectrum without us even knowing it. I always used to love milk chocolate as well, but now it tastes kind of flavorless to me. Nothing has changed except TWD. In any case, I thought this cake was delicious, and the kids loved it. I agree it’s a keeper!

  5. I am with you on the milk chocolate, and I still can not turn down Hershey Kisses.

    But now, my palate has gotten sophisticated, and dark is more to my liking.

  6. Isn’t it funny how our tastes change? I’m glad you got to make this one and relive your love of milk chocolate. So disappointing about the glaze.

  7. In my old age I like all kinds of chocolate, dark, light, milk, white. This recipe was yummy.

  8. Mmmm, love all the chocolate you have here. My kind of blog! 🙂

  9. Thanks for sharing your love story with us! 🙂 Quite romantic! Glad this brought you back to your first true love!

  10. A true love story, if I ever read one. Although I’d made those cakes before, I think I used bittersweet chocolate. Milk just doesn’t do it for me.

    And next week – brownies!!

  11. It’s so funny, my chocolate tastes changed over time, too. Every since I got pregnant I’ve been addicted to dark chocolate.

  12. So glad you are able to appreciate them both. Chocolate is a wonderful thing!
    AmyRuth

  13. Pingback: TWD: Soft chocolate blueberry tart « Baking with the Boys

Leave a Reply

