TWD: My chocolate chip cookie can beat up your chocolate chip cookie

Degustibus non est disputandum.

My dad was an altar boy back when the Catholic Church was still steeped in Latin.  He was a chemistry major for 3 yrs and then he went to law school well before the “plain language” movement hit its stride.  Needless to say, the man has some Latin phrases in his arsenal.  His favorite?  Degustibus non est disputandum.  Literal translation: In matters of taste there is no dispute.

This was uttered so often in our house we shortened it to degustibus for ease.  “You don’t want chocolate syrup on your chocolate chocolate chip ice cream?  Degustibus.”  “That play we just saw where I wanted to personally hunt down the playwright for wasting 2 hours of my life is your new favorite??  Degustibus.”  “You’re really rooting for the Yankees to win it all?  Deg…no, sorry, no defense for that one.”

So, here we are at the Chocolate Chip Cookie, otherwise known as the Holy Grail of the home baker.  And when it comes to Chocolate Chip Cookies (you can see this coming a mile away)…degustibus.  We like them the way like them and that’s that.  Unless, of course, you like them out of a Duncan Heinz package in which case an intervention is in order.

Dorie’s are very similar to Toll House – she says so right up front.  I love Toll House, grew up eating them.  My mom had a special knack for getting them just right.  They are one of her two requested dishes (the other is tacos, don’t ask how).  I have, however, discovered that Toll House are not my favorite.  My current love is the fake Neiman Marcus recipe but I was rather fond of the NY Times recipe as well.  Frankly, I have yet to encounter the Chocolate Chip Cookie that makes me turn away.

top is the lower baking temperature; the bottoms browned pretty early on the 375 batch.

Variations:  Mine were thin but I am not sure they spread as much as others’.  In what I hope will become a somewhat regular feature to my postings, I made them straight and with a variation.  I was short on time so my variation this week was baking batches at different temperatures.  The first batch was 325 for 14 minutes (should have pulled them at 13) and the second was per Dorie’s instruction.  The 325ers were prettier but the taste wasn’t much different.

Bottom line:  I liked them but they won’t be my go to recipe.  Chopping the chocolate, however, is GENIUS.

Next week:  Honey Wheat cookies (I am irrationally excited for these).  The full recipe for this week is at Kait’s Plate.

20 responses to “TWD: My chocolate chip cookie can beat up your chocolate chip cookie

  1. Your cookies look great! Mine spread too much. Lately my “go to” chocolate chip cookie recipe is Alton Brown’s “The Chewy”. Yum!

  2. They won’t be my “go-to” recipe, either, but they were tasty!

  3. I chickened out and didn’t chop the chocolate. I have a feeling, however, that it does make a difference.

  4. I’ve never turned away from a ccc either. Great post!

  5. Your father is a wise wise man. I’m with you – there’s no truly bad chocolate chip cookie in my book. I tried the real Nieman Marcus years ago, and I’ve been meaning to give fake Nieman Marcus a try. The NYT is hard to beat, but my tasters liked Dorie’s too. Your cookies look great!

  6. I haven’t got a favourite chocolate chip recipe, yet. Yours were thicker than mine, though, so maybe I’ll try the lower temperature next time. Thanks for the tip!

  7. Your cookies look great. I’ve never had the Neiman Marcus recipe, I’m going to have to check it out!

  8. A great post…thanks so much for the fun read!

    I also love the NYT recipe as well.

  9. YUM! Your ccc’s look delicious! The chopped chocolate “is” genius isn’t it? Personally, I am still stuck on Alton Brown’s “chewy” CCC recipe. =)

  10. Your cookies do look better, less flat, than many I’ve seen. I think you’re on to something with the lower temperature. And chopping the chocolate does make them better!

  11. LOL on the Latin…we have phrases also and people just shake their heads when we utter them…it’s an acquired taste for sure to appreciate the turn of a phrase. Your cookies look lovely, not at all like mine, did we use the same recipe? I have been asking myself that all day looking at cookies…they all look so different. Big hit here as the guys like crunchy (I think it goes along with the potato chip jones that happens here with them weekly…that salty crunchy goodness). I am looking forward to next week…actually I already made them yesterday and they are nice.

  12. Love the Latin.
    The lower temp ones look good. I need more thickness in my cookie to call them “the best!”

  13. Those who chopped up the chocolate, like you, seem to be pretty unanimous that it’s the way to go. Definitely something to keep in mind for the future. Also, cool tidbit about your family!

  14. I will stick to the Toll House variety. Yours look good.

  15. These were not my favorite either. Years ago the Neiman one was my go-to. Now it’s NYT. LOVE that one. But like you, pretty much no ccc’s are turned down round here!
    Good luck with your planned move, too.

  16. Love this post! I am totally going to steal Degustibus and start using it. No one will know what I’m talking about, but I’ll be chuckling to myself all the while.

  17. I’ve got to admit, I LOVE the chopped chocolate as well! I like that you tried them at a lower temp! And your story cracked me up! Debustibus is my new favorite word.

  18. Love CCC, but these weren’t my fav. AB still is my top.

    Yours look delicious. They didn’t spread like mine.

  19. Glad yours turned out so well. I think you are right, we like what we like. I have made the Neiman Marcus cookies as well but always go back to my moms. 🙂

  20. I’m late reading this one, but I thoroughly enjoyed this post! Haven’t made those Neiman Marcus cookies in ages! I guess I should give them another try soon.

Leave a Reply

