TWD: Mocha NoNut Bundt Cake

I made this for Easter (because the chocolate bunnies, jelly beans and marshmallow eggs just weren’t enough).  It was yummy.  I think I would some chocolate chips next time.

I could talk more about the cake but this:

really made me smile.  Spending holidays with kids is truly one of the best parts of this whole parenting biz.  Who else will remind you that the Easter Bunny doesn’t say anything about being good to get your loot?  Think about it.  It’s not part of the lore, a loophole my kids were happy to exploit at times this spring.

Variations: I skipped the walnuts and subbed in 1/4 c. of flaxseed.  I am not totally sure why.  I felt I need to account for the missing walnuts and ground flaxseed seemed perfectly logical at the time.

Bottom Line:  Good; moist.  Nice little bundt cake.

Next week:  swedish tea cake.  hmmm…we’ll see.  For this week’s recipe, visit Erin of When in Doubt…Leave it at 350. I love that name — sums up a good portion of my baking philosophy.

16 responses to “TWD: Mocha NoNut Bundt Cake

  1. That list is so cute, bless your little ones! Lovely looking cake, I think I went wrong somewhere making this one! I must try it again one day.

  2. cool idea on the flax seed. and what an adorable note!

    i made the coconut tea cake for Easter. I added grapefruit and loved it!

  3. Ah. My kids are past the Easter bunnie stage and I miss it so much. Great idea adding flax seed!

  4. that note is too cute! flax seed huh, interesting!

  5. Love the Easter Bunny note! We’ve sure been getting all kinds of questions around here that I just don’t have an answer for. I just keep telling the boys, “If you don’t believe, then the bunny won’t come.” Shuts them right now. 😉
    Love your bundt, looks like you went for more chocolate than vanilla. I’m always for more chocolate!
    House?

  6. What a cute letter! Great bundt, too!

  7. cute letter and nice bundt! looks great even sans nuts.

  8. Ah, the curiosity. We’re not there yet, and I am not looking forward to getting there. Nice job on the cake!

  9. Love the letter, especially how he asks the Bunny if he minds answering the questions. It’s like he knows how busy the Bunny is this time of year. I totally agree about how fun holidays are with kids around, especially when they still believe everything. I think this may be the last year our oldest child still believes that a cartoonish rabbit hops to all the houses in the world delivering candy – so sad. Your cake looks great – glad you enjoyed it!

  10. Unplanned Cooking

    So funny! Was actually wondering what I’m going to do around here for a sugar high when our Easter stash runs out…;)

  11. Hahaha, that note is sooo cute!! Your cake looks really pretty!

  12. Got to love kids. The cake looks yummy!

  13. Flax seed… interesting. Maybe I can sneak in some wheat germ next time 😉

    And kids… are the greatest things about holidays sometimes. The questions alone worth it 🙂

  14. Great letter to the Easter Bunny, thanks for sharing! Your cake looks great, Im glad you liked it.
    I love flax seed too!

  15. haha! Love that letter, so perfect! Your cake looks great!

  16. aww, sweet note from your little one. Glad this turned out so well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

