TWD: (the humbling) Swedish Visiting Cake

My camera is still acting weird and I haven’t had time to figure it out.  This was taken with my phone.  You should have seen the others….

I was wrong.

That sentence is a line of demarcation between maturity and immaturity, right?  For example, my kids never just say, “I was wrong.”  There are – always – a number of qualifiers attached.  “He started it.”  “I didn’t mean it.”  “I didn’t know the towel rack would snap if I hung from it like Tarzan.”  And my personal favorite recently uttered by my second-grader in defense of making of fun of his brother on the playground after school, “I was stressed out from a full day of school.”   

So, let me proclaim my (fragile) maturity to the world.  About this cake…I was wrong. 

You see, I smirked a little when a couple of other members mentioned on the P & Q that they couldn’t believe this cake had been chosen before.  Of course it hadn’t been chosen, I thought.  It looks like the most boring cake in the book.  On my own, I guarantee I would never have considered trying this recipe.   I was fully prepared to give a mediocre review.

But, I am letting myself mess up the kitchen for baking once a week so I thought I would go ahead and make it.  I did make one change to the recipe.  I knew I probably would be biased against this cake with just the lemon zest for flavoring.  For me, a dessert has to go for the lemon full throttle or skip it all together.  I had some lemon chips (think yellow chocolate chips) waiting to be used.  I threw a little over a half of a cup in and…awesome.  I liked it so much better than I thought I would.  Who knows?  I may even make it again.  I think it would be great with chocolate chips (no lemon zest) or the apple version that was posted in the P&Q (I thought of going for that one this time but, frankly, couldn’t muster the enthusiasm for peeling apples).

Variations:  Addition of above mentioned lemon chips.  If I had time to figure out my camera woes, I would post a picture of them.  I also skipped the sliced almonds on half.  I would skip them altogether next time.

Bottom line:  VERY easy and surprisingly good.

For the full recipe, visit Nancy at The Dogs Eat the Crumbs.  Next week:  sweet cream biscuits.  I have made these already.  Hallelujah!

17 responses to “TWD: (the humbling) Swedish Visiting Cake

  1. Mmmmm… lemon chips! I bet it tasted great! I loved this cake and how easy it was to throw together!

  2. What a great idea to use lemon chips! Your cake looks very yummy. My family loved this one!

  3. Ok, I’ll play along with the others–lemon chips?!! Never seen or heard of them–I wanted the lemon flavor to come through more and will leave out the almond flavoring next time, but WHERE did you get lemon chips?

    I. was. wrong. too. But it’s all my husband’s fault, right. 😉

  4. i loved the almond crunch on top and wished i put MORE on! 🙂 I’ve never heard of lemon chips before… very intrigued !

  5. I was with you. I thought this would be a dud but Dorie came through again. Your cake looks great!

  6. Unplanned Cooking

    Laughing because I had similar issues re photography last week. And when something around here breaks, we struggle finding time to fix it.

  7. mmmm….lemon chips. Definitely a great choice with this cake. Great job with your cake!

  8. When you find your camera again I need a picture of the lemon chips! I can’t believe as a self proclaimed lemon addict I have no idea what you are talking about. Glad I wasn’t the only that thought it cake looked kinda boring. Boy was I wrong. This one is a keeper!
    -CB
    http://iheartfood4thought.com

  9. wow–lemon chips! i’ve never heard of them. i bet it was absolutely delicious:)

  10. I’ve never even heard of lemon chips, bet that was amazing!

  11. Great idea to amp up the lemon flavor – this cake seems to be adaptable that way. I can totally see how the almonds wouldn’t be necessary once you add the lemon chips. How very “big” of you to admit you’re wrong – and I had to laugh at your kids’ excuses. I also found it funny that the one thing I was dying to make was the last thing that others were interested in; that’s what makes TWD so interesting! Thanks for baking along with me this week, and I’m glad the cake ended up to your liking.

  12. Lemon chips?!? I have never heard of them before. I bet they were wonderful in this cake. Your cake looks good. 🙂

  13. I know exactly what you mean! I totally misjudged this cake too, and was so not excited about making it. I happily ate my words–and this cake!

  14. Yup…I would have skipped this one, too. I’m so glad I didn’t. I just added all of the lemon zest with the vanilla extract…no almond extract for me. It was fabulous.

  15. I think this cake has a lot of people bowled over 🙂 Me included! It really was delicious. Love your idea of using lemon chips!

  16. Wow, somehow I’ve lived for 37 years and have never heard of lemon chips before reading your post – what kind of rock have I been hiding under? I totally need to find some for those times when I need to amp up the lemon flavor and zest alone won’t do. I’m so glad that you ended up liking the cake after having low expectations. We loved this one. Oh — I had to take my son’s 2d grade class to the cafeteria today (yup, pretty much as terrifying as it sounds), and I don’t recall hearing a whole lot of “my bad” and “it was me, not you,” now that you mention it . . .

  17. LOL on the comment re boring…I can’t tell you how many times I have been through that book and never noticed it until Nancy went on and on about hoping it was still there for her to choose. Def not boring once you taste it. Love how you have a divided cake, some with nuts, some not.

Leave a Reply

