TWD: Chockablock Cookies

Good news:  Now, that I am on my way to

Puerto Rico, I will probably be forced to confront my photography situation.  I will have pictures that I really need to upload.  Bad news:  Still, using phone camera photography this week.

On to the actual cookies…I think these suffered by comparison, poor things.  Let me explain.  I grew up in Kansas City.  Occasionally, we will have a lovely sunset.  Beautiful, I always thought.  Then, as a young adult, I moved to Arizona.  The sunsets there?  Dramatic.  Magical.  And regular.  When I moved back here the sunsets weren’t the same.  They were still pretty but they didn’t compare.

Had Dorie filled her “cookie jar” chapter with snickerdoodles, gingersnaps and lemon crèmes, I probably would have really loved these.  But the book is filled with these hyper mix-in kind of cookies, and these were not the best of the bunch.  I just last week proclaimed my everlasting love for the Chocolate Chunkers and Malted Whopper Drops.  And I don’t want to tell you how many of the Granola Grabbers I ate that week.  So, these were good…but not magical.

As I alluded at the beginning, I am off to Puerto Rico for a conference by day/pina colada by night by night kind of thing.  I will not be checking and commenting this week (at least not any time close to Tuesday).

Variations:  I used a mixture of molasses and honey solely because I ran out of molasses.  I would be curious to try to them with all molasses.  I left the nuts out completely and made half with coconut and half without.  I tried both and really thought you could taste the coconut (so one bite was PLENTY).  I used cranberries for the dried fruit.

Bottom Line:  a good solid cookies.  Kids definitely enjoyed them.

Next week:  Burnt sugar ice cream.  I really hope I get to this before next Tuesday.  I thought about making it ahead, but my swimsuit smacked me in the head for even thinking about it.

6 responses to “TWD: Chockablock Cookies

  1. Your boys could surely sell this cookie.

  2. I need to get one of those smacking swimsuits! Have fun, Kelly!

  3. Im glad everyone liked them! They look yummy! Have a great trip, Im jealous.

  4. Yep, kids loved these here, too. Mark thought they had a bit too much going on…he is all for a simpler life and these were not it. I nibbled around the chocolate parts, but wasn’t all that thrilled, but I bake for the kids, so they were happy, I was happy! Loved the photo of your boys…wow are they growing!

  5. My family felt the key to success in these cookies was lots of chocolate. Have a great trip!

  6. I feel your pain on the camera situation. Mine is a disaster too! Thanks so much for baking along with me this week.

Leave a Reply

