TWD: Disappearing Raisin Swirl Bread

We have not discussed my photography issues in awhile because, let’s face it, they are boring.  But I am still not able to use my regular camera.  So, while my photography skills are lacking, I would like to blame some of it on my lackluster camera phone.

So, it is probably no loss that I didn’t have an opportunity to get a real picture of the raisin swirl bread.  What more can I say about this bread?  The entire loaf was gone in less than 24 hours.  More than three quarters was gone in a couple of hours.  I subbed in cranberries for the raisins and went for all of the add-ins.  Fab-u-lous.

Despite the fact that we clearly enjoyed our brief encounter with the bread, bread is not dessert.  By Sunday night, my entire being was crying out for something calorie laden and nutritionally bankrupt, preferably in chocolate form.  Just as I was about to knock out some Tribute to Katharine Hepburn brownies, I decided to go for the Almost Fudge Gateau, one of the few recipes selected before I joined. 

Do not hesitate to make this yourself.  Once again, fab-u-lous.  Let’s just say that the amount left over after Sunday dinner with Patty fit into a sandwich baggie.  I was pleasantly surprised to see it still there on Monday morning.  Moist, rich and verrryyy satisfying.

6 responses to “TWD: Disappearing Raisin Swirl Bread

  1. LOL…the difference between the size of the boys is that around here, that loaf was gone in 20 minutes! The frequent cry is “Hurry up and photo this so we can eat it!” This was a keeper in my mind.

  2. This was great bread.
    I love that–“my entire being crying out….” So THAT’S what happens to my being. 😉

  3. Sounds like the bread was a hit!! I seriously have to try that Gateau. Looks so decadent!

  4. You made two winners this week! We made short work of our bread too.

  5. UUHH!!! Cranberries. What a great sub. Not a raisin lover here and so that sub would be PERFECT.

    Must have been a hit since gone so quickly.

  6. Ah, love the shot of the “lone plate!” Too funny, and yea, we loved the bread too.
    So gratifying when the family adores the bakermommy.
    Yes, Shakespeare’s rocks, still.
    AmyRuth

Leave a Reply

