TWD: The mother of all catch up posts

So, I FINALLY get around to catching up and my wireless connections goes kaput.  I give up...

Still here!

Barely.

So, in the interest of getting caught up, I need to make this fast.  I was planning to post a few pics but see first sentence above.  Maybe tomorrow?  Yeah, right.  I hope to be back in full swing in October but, believe it or not, I have made every recipe that I haven’t posted.  The nitty gritty below in reverse chronological order:

Peanut Butter Crisscrosses: I didn’t have eggs so I made these with flax seed instead and natural PB (the horror!).  They were pretty good but I prefer mine without chopped peanuts.  Also, mine were kind of fragile but that could be the result of my substitutions.  Good but not the best PB cookie I have had.

Espresso Shortbread: Best shortbread I have ever had.  But, I am not much of a fan to begin with so that may not be the highest praise.  Still, I ate WAY more than I should have.

Peach Custard Tart: I made this in mid-August when we were in Georgia on vacation.  It is the peach state, right!  I think i mucked up the streusel but this was good.  Surprisingly, I liked it much better at room temperature than cold.  I thought the custard would be good after a spell in the fridge.  Wrong.

Oatmeal Breakfast Bread:  Good solid dessert masquerading as breakfast.  I am not sure the applesauce cancels out the sugar topping (I am pretty sure it doesn’t!).

Chocolate Ganache Ice Cream: the reason I fell off the post vacation wagon.  This was originally supposed to be posted the week we were gone and I just didn’t get to it in time.  I should NOT have made it one day after arriving home.  I should have immediately stocked up on broccoli and spinach.  Because this?  was AMAZING.  Thanks, Katrina (I knew she wouldn’t steer me wrong).  My pants, however, are pissed off.

Next week: some cranberry cake that I am really going to try to make.  I may even get it posted but let’s not get ahead of ourselves.

6 responses to “TWD: The mother of all catch up posts

  1. Been a little busy, I see! Sounds like my life – which is why I don’t do TWD anymore. My clothes are thanking me for it! And I swear the days aren’t even 24 hours anymore ….

    I’m actually surprised you made the PB cookies, knowing how you feel about it!

  2. wow you have really been cooking up a storm! Would love to see photos. I left the peanuts out of these and just made plain ones. They were good, but not the best I’ve ever had.

  3. Sorry for pissing off your pants. Ew, that doesn’t sound right.
    Anyway, looks like you’ve had just as crazy a summer as us. That ice cream was fantastic though, eh! I could only eat a few bites though. I’d rather have a big bowl of something less guilt-ridden!
    Fun for you to play around with the pb cookie recipe. I added lots of chocolate and Butterfingers. No peanuts.
    Shortbread–good. Espresso–no likey. I used hazelnut flavoring. Yep, ate too many of those!
    I screwed up the streusel on the peach tart, too. But it was still good. I actually liked the tart better chilled.
    Oatmeal bread–definitely dessert. I made it in to cake, two ways! Had a request to make it again for a family function.
    Fun to see you on here!
    (Thanks for pissing off your pants to make ice cream with me back when!) 😉

  4. sounds like you’ve been a busy little baker 🙂

  5. That IS the mother of all catch up posts! I’m just impressed you made everything with all the craziness. I always have an easier time baking things and photographing them than actually posting about them–I don’t know what it is that makes me so lazy about posting!

  6. Well, I was wondering where the heck you have been lately…lol. Sounds like you were busy enough already. All of it sounds great, in fact, I may need to make a couple of those again for the guys around here.

Leave a Reply

