Why I like January

No, I am not out of my mind.

No, I do not live in the Southern Hemisphere or even the South.

In fact, I don’t really truly like January. I am ready for winter to end almost as soon as it begins and, certainly, no later than 12:01am on December 26th. There is snow, there is cold, there is dark. I don’t feel bad about not loving dreary dark days.

But. I recently caught myself saying things like “I am sooo ready for this month to end,” and “At least we are almost through with January.” And that is where I have to draw the line. As it has been made crystal clear to me lately, time is moving. It is moving at a pace that I am not always at peace with. My son just turned nine. I can recall, with a surprising amount of clarity, many small moments surrounding his birth and his infancy. While they may not seem like yesterday, they do not seem like they happened nine years ago. Nine years from now, I will be preparing for his high school graduation. I have no doubt the pace of those years will make the last nine feel like they crept by.

So, to get to the point, I am disgusted with myself for wishing time away. I am going to try to resist the urge to say I can’t wait until Friday or when will this week, month, season be over? Because you know what? It will be soon. Sooner than I’d like I am sure. If you asked me if I could have a day from January 2004 back, I would take it.

I make my kids tell me something good about their day every night to remind them that there is always something to be thankful about. I am going to follow my own advice.

Why I like January:

  • · Sledding is fun.
  • · Everything is on sale.
  • · As much as I love my Christmas decorations, I feel refreshed when the house loses a little clutter.
  • · NFL playoffs
  • · Big 12 basketball
  • · (Almost) guilt free afternoons on the couch.
  • · Soup

How about you?

One response to “Why I like January

  1. I like this post! Just the other day, I was watching video of my boys from 2 or 3 years ago. It felt like yesterday! No more wishing the days away here, either!! Enjoy February. 🙂

Leave a Reply

