The week in Good Things (2/4/11)

Nothing to do with Martha Stewart…

Christmas 2008

I briefly mentioned this in my Why I Like January post but I am going to expound on it here.  Two years ago, a couple of days after Christmas, my kids were having one of “those” days.  They were alternately bored and pesky all day.  By the time they were getting into bed, they were just done with the day and they let me know.  When they started complaining that the day had been boooorrring (keep in mind that there was a fresh pile of Christmas and Birthday gifts invading every space in the house) and not good at all, I may have been a little irritated.  After voicing my complete disgust with this attitude, I decided we needed an attitude adjustment and the nightly “good thing” ritual was born.

Every night, they tell me one or more “good things” about the day.  We have been doing this for two years now and it is one of my favorite parts of the day.  The kids generally cooperate but will occasionally ask if we can stop.  I tell them no because we still need reminders that every day has at least one thing to be thankful for.  The real reason I keep it going:  I love to see what they are thinking about.  It occurred to me recently that I should have been writing some of these down as a snapshot of their lives, likes and interests.

So, I am starting now.  I am going to try to do a weekly summary of their picks.  This will probably only interest me but isn’t that the norm with parents and kids?  and, if you know me at all, you will be impressed that I am actually trying to keep something for posterity.

Will:  starting a new Calendar mystery book, getting a costume for his “wax museum” day at school; snow day; missing school for a dr appt

Colin: reading Luke Skywalker’s Amazing Story, playing video games; making chocolate chip cookies; talking to Johnny (his bud at school).

3 responses to “The week in Good Things (2/4/11)

  1. What a great idea! Love love love this idea…where were you when my Alex was this age???? lol Darling picture of your guys. Looking forward to reading these…print them off for your scrapbooks on the boys, they will love reading them later.

  2. I agree with Kayte about everything! This is a great idea for posting and it will give you something to look back on, and them, too. I have a journal for each of my boys that I started when I was pregnant with them. I slack off every now and then, but I try to write in them at least twice a month. It’s fun to go back and read the funny things they said or the thoughtful things they did. Good job!

  3. I love you and think your blog is great, but we need to give me editorial control over these photos. Sheesh. I always look terrible in the ones you pick out. Nice bed head. For your baking buddies, this picture was taken at about 6:30 a.m. Be gentle.

Leave a Reply

