YWPWT: Blueberry Cream Cheese Tart

P7040009

I’m back.  It has been a while since I participated in So You Want Pies With That.  Life (and an ever slowing metabolism) gets in the way sometimes.

This month our theme is summer.  There are million ways to go with this one.  “lemon pie to celebrate the sun I haven’t seen in months;” “my kids are home all summer rum soaked pie,” etc.  But I chose to honor two summer specific things: fresh berries and hot kitchens.  While I can find a banana, apple or pear year round, fresh berries only make an appearance during the summer.  I consider it my duty to gorge on them accordingly.

P7040004

And let’s face it.  Who needs the stress of keeping butter ice cold for pastry dough in July?  Not to mention an extra hour with a hot oven…Not me.

So, I present Blueberry Cream Cheese Tart.  It is chock full of fresh berries and almost (!) no bake.  I wish I had a picture of a slice but it was gone quickly on the Fourth.  I had overnight visitors and errant fireworks to worry about.  Photography fell off the radar.  Between the graham cracker layer and the blueberries is a thin layer of cream cheese filling.  The result?  Delectable (and easy).

P7040039

Blueberry Cream Cheese Tart

Crust

  • 10 graham crackers
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 4 tablespoons melted butter

Cream Cheese Filling

  • 6 oz. cream cheese (room temperature)
  • 2 tbps. heavy cream
  • 3 tbsp. sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Blueberry Topping

  • 4 c. fresh blueberries
  • 3/4 c. sugar
  • ¼ c. water
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 tbsp lime juice
  • 1 tbsp cornstarch

Preheat oven to 350.  Butter or spray  9 inch tart pan.  Grind graham crackers and sugar in food processor.  Add melted butter and stir to mix.  Press graham cracker/butter mixture into pan.  Cook for 10 minutes.  Cool.

Whisk together the cream cheese, heavy cream, sugar and vanilla.  Set aside.

In a small saucepan, combine 2 c. berries, sugar, salt, water, and cornstarch.  Cook over medium heat for a few minutes until liquid thickens and turns clear.  Remove from heat and add remaining blueberries and lime juice.

Spread the cream cheese layer over the crust.  Spoon on the blueberry mixture.  Refrigerate for an hour.  Enjoy!

9 responses to “YWPWT: Blueberry Cream Cheese Tart

  1. You are a genius – no bake crust, cream cheese and BLUEBERRIES?!?!

    Perfect!

  2. YUM!! Sounds like a winner and looks spectacular.

  3. Oh, this screams summer. Great pictures!

  4. Wow that really does look summery and I love that you can keep yourself cool while making (and eating) this pie. Yum!

  5. So pretty and summery!

  6. Wow, this looks just beautiful!

  7. Wow, this looks wonderful!

  8. I could live on blueberries alone in summer. This looks really good!

  9. Nummers!! that does sound delish.

Leave a comment