YWPWT: Anarchy in the UP!!!*

*Parts of this post may not be suitable for impressionable readers. Hee hee.

dscn1470

That would be United Piedom, in case you were wondering.  This month’s You Want Pies With That? Challenge was a fashion themed pie.  And so we have Punk Rock Pie. 

Let’s think about this for a minute.  Did I really have any other choice?  Really?  Baby was in the corner on this one.  We all know my artistic/decorating skills are subpar at best.  I was going to come up with something to compete with these other bakers and their perfect pie crust leaves and artistic swirls of whipped cream and so on?  Exactly.  So, I had to go the other way.  Completely.  This pie doesn’t want to be pretty or delicate or glazed with a simple syrup of spring water, organic sugar and freshly grated kumquat.  *%&# that!  It is saggy in the middle, crumbly on the outside and sporting a (sort of) purple mohawk.

dscn1468

And don’t try to pigeonhole the ingredients either, suit.  (we don’t need your stuffy rules, a**h&#$).  Is it pie?  Cake?  Candy?  Nothing in this pie is a classic “pie ingredient.”  The crust is an unholy mixture of pretzels, honey nut cheerios and butter.  Cheerios for breakfast?  Maybe for the bourgoisie.  

The filling is chocolate cake loaded with an assortment of leftover Halloween candy…caramels, snickers, butterfinger, Hershey bar and peanut M&Ms.  It sagged in the middle under the weight and oozed out a gooey glob when cut.  Perfect. 

dscn1462

dscn1471Nothing refined about this one.

I asked my tasters for an appropriate expression to go with the punk pie.  This is what I got…

dscn1472

 

Crust

There are no measurements.  That doesn’t fit the aesthetic here, people.

A bunch of mini pretzels, a bunch of cheerios, a few tablespoons of sugar and of melted butter.  Process the pretzels, cheerios, and sugar in the food processor into fine crumbs.  Stir in the melted butter.  Press into the pan you are using and stick in the fridge.  

 

Cake pie filling

1.5 cups of AP flour
1 cup sugar
1/3 c. cocoa
salt
baking powder
1 c. cold coffee
1 c. vegetable oil
1 tsp vanilla
2 tbsp. Cider vinegar
a handful or many of assorted candy, chopped.

Preheat to 350 degrees.  Sift the dry ingredients into a bowl.  In a separate bowl, combine the coffee, oil, and vanilla.  Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir to remove any lumps.  Quickly stir in the cider vinegar and stir til uniform in color.  Pour the batter into the refridgerated crust.  Throw in the candy and bake for about 20 – 25 minutes.  Be careful.  I stuck a cake tester in and thought it wasn’t done but I was hitting melted butterfinger.

If you are wondering why this kind of looks like a cake (don’t judge me, man)…after consuming 18lbs of Halloween goodies, I halved this and baked it in a 6 in. springform.  The recipe as written would work for a pie plate.

 

 

8 responses to “YWPWT: Anarchy in the UP!!!*

  1. oh sweet jesus
    a pie, made out of a cake, with a purple mohawk.

    you have balls, I’ll give you that!
    🙂

  2. You nailed this one – I have “London Calling” by the Clash going through my head now.

    Awesome!!

  3. Rest assured I’ll be cranking up the Dead Kennedys and making this pie/cake/thing (although I doubt it can really be replicated). Nobody puts Baby in the corner!

  4. Haha, that looks awesome! I love the cheerio crust, too! 🙂

  5. Wow, Halloween Candy Pie!! How fun!

  6. Ah blessed anarchy! I love your outside of the establishment punky pie!
    xo

Leave a comment