YWPWT: Christmas Time is Here Pie

dscn1524

“Isn’t there anyone who knows what Christmas is all about?!”

“Sure, Charlie Brown, I can tell you what Christmas is all about…

Lights, please.”

If you recognize those lines then you will know exactly what inspired this pie.  I am going sentimental with this one.  Sure, I thought about a crazy Grinch inspired pie that would excuse any baking or decorating deficiencies I have, but I let the holiday spirit take over.

This month our You Want Pies With That? challenge was to create a pie based on your favorite holiday song.  I love – LOVE – A Charlie Brown Christmas.  I watched it with my parents when I was a kid. I watched it with my roommates in college.  One of my greatest joys in the holiday season is watching it with my kids, who love it.  My love for it even managed to survive the year my older son was two and he insisted we watch it on DVD until Valentine’s Day.

dscn1520

This pie is my ode to the opening song, Christmas Time is Here.  The second I hear the opening notes I am instantly in a holiday mood.  To my everlasting delight, my husband bought the Charlie Brown Christmas songbook and plays them for us all through December.  (I would like an explanation of how we got from Vince Guaraldi to Yo Gabba Gabba).

The top layer is vanilla custard with edible glitter to invoke the ice on the frozen pond.  The bottom layer is chocolate custard flavored with Peanuts hot cocoa.  Because what do you absolutely need after ice skating?  Hot cocoa.    cocoa

dscn1533

dscn1516

Mom and son pronounced it awesome.  I would love to have a picture of them enjoying it but, since the sun makes only a brief half-a** appearance this time of year, I will not subject you to another dark picture (for now).

Don’t you love the skating Snoopy?  My husband has a freak savant talent of being able to draw Peanuts characters…and only Peanuts characters.  He can’t draw anything else but he managed this free hand!  Awesome, I think and much appreciated.

dscn1528

If you celebrate Christmas and haven’t seen Charlie Brown Christmas, first crawl out from under your rock, then purchase a TV (go ahead and get the one that comes with the DVD player – you don’t have time to shop around) and then head to Blockbuster.  NOW.  A teaser below…

Double Custard Pie

Vanilla Custard

 Ingredients

  • 1 C. sugar
  • 1/3 C. flour
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 2 C. milk
  • 3 egg yolks (lightly beaten)
  • 2 tbsp. Butter
  • 2 tsp. Vanilla

Directions

Mix the sugar, flour and salt in bowl.  In saucepan, heat milk to scald.  Whisk in flour mixture.  When it starts bubbling scoop a couple of spoonfuls into the egg yolks.  blend thoroughly and add back to the pan.  Let it begin bubbling again and cook for about one more minute.  Remove from heat and add the butter and vanilla.  Cooll until you can add it to an already cooked pie crust.  I like mine chilled in the fridge.

Chocolate Custard

Add four tablespoons of cocoa powder or use 1/2 cocoa powder with 1/2 hot cocoa mix.  Follow the same directions for the vanilla custard. 

To make a double custard, halve the amounts above.  I made the chocolate first and let it chill in the crust overnight before making and adding the vanilla layer.

12 responses to “YWPWT: Christmas Time is Here Pie

  1. What a great pie! I am going to have that tune stuck in my head for the rest of the day and that’s a great thing!

  2. Oh my gosh! I used to love the Peanuts cartoons. But my all time favorite is still Rudolph – especially when he goes up against the Abominable Snowman.

    Can you pass me a slice please? That looks absolutely delish!

  3. Such a great pie and I LOVE LOVE LOVE the peanuts shows. I heard the song in the mall the other day and it just takes you back to simple times, no? Great theme and pie!!

  4. This is so sweet! I love the glistening top. What a great Christmas song to pick.

  5. OMW…I loved the little snippet with the song…such fun…and that skating Snoopy…too much! So much FUN!

  6. very cute! I love the idea

  7. I love the top of the pie, it really does look like ice!
    Great idea 🙂

  8. That looks great and cool pie theme. Also great Snoopy drawing.

  9. Great idea! I really like how you used the sugar to make the top of the pie look like ice.

  10. How cute is that? I loved that show as a kid too… your skating snoopy is adorable.

  11. LOVE the Peanuts gang. I think it stems from the sheets I had when I was a kid. We just watched the Christmas DVD. It’s not the Holidays with Charlie Brown, Snoopy and the gang. Nice pie!

  12. Oh My goodness – I LOVE IT! I cannot wait until next year when my lil guy is old enough to watch A Charlie Brown Christmas – he goes to bed too early right now. Wonderful pie!

Leave a comment