YWPWT: Tortilla Pie

photo-856

Despite my lacking photography capabilities (still camera-less and using laptop), I am back for the March You Want Pies With That.  This month the pie was supposed to celebrate herbs and spices.

My natural inclination would be to go with cinnamon or nutmeg or anything normally associated with a sweet delectable pie (snickerdoodle pie immediately came to mind).  BUT, and it’s a big one, I gave up most sweets for Lent.  I am far too weak to make a succulent sweet pie and not even taste it.

So, I decided to showcase the spices I probably use more than any others: Cumin and chili powder (chipotle in this case).  I don’t know if they are my favorite but I use them over and over and over.  I also threw in some cilantro which I love and usually have around.

photo-8571

Clearly, we have deviated from sweet.  There is no real recipe.  The crust is made of flour tortillas.  The filling is black beans, onion, garlic, red pepper, cumin, chipotle chili powder, oregano, salt and tomatoes.  Saute all that and then top it with some cilantro and a mexican cheese mix.  Pop it in at 350 for about 20 minutes.  Voila!  Tortilla pie!

12 responses to “YWPWT: Tortilla Pie

  1. You know, I’ve never had black beans before – I suppose I could use pinto beans instead, right?

    I, too, love cilantro -but it seems to have as many haters as the TWD custard.

    What a good Catholic girl you – you have so much willpower than I ever had. I never made it past the first 2 weeks of Lent without caving in!

  2. Love it! I love the savory pie and Mexican food. A perfect dinner for me. I’ll be over soon! 🙂

  3. All of my favorite flavors and foods are in your pie. And it sounds so quick and easy to make. Lovely!

  4. This looks awesome. I’m also a cilantro lover. In fact, I’m sort of irritated as I’m writing this, because I am surfing blogs for some good Tex Mex recipes for company tomorrow night, but one of our friends is a cilantro hater. So I’m reading these great recipes knowing that I have to leave the cilantro out of the salsa, guac, etc. I think next time we’ll invite over different friends. Anyway, love your pie, and this is bound to show up on our dinner table soon.

  5. Wow, I think I know what I’m making for dinner! Cilantro and cumin are also two of my favorites. I want to stick a chip through my screen and grab a bite!

  6. Wow, that looks so good! I love all of those flavors together. Thanks for a great dinner pie idea.

  7. never thought to use tortillas as a pie crust, gotta give it a test run! they make great thin crust pizzas if your ever in need of one.

  8. This is right up my alley! I love anything spicy! Whip up margaritas to go with it and I’d be a happy woman!

  9. What a great meal!! It looks great and would be a perfect Lent Friday dinner with no meat 🙂 I loooooove cilantro!

  10. Wow, that looks delicious! I would love a slice of that for dinner.

    Good luck staying away from sweets. That’s always a good one to give up for Lent.

  11. That looks amazing! Who needs sweets when you have ooey gooey cheese 🙂

  12. This looks wonderful and definitely a recipe that I will try out soon!

Leave a comment